Tofu Pot Stickers with Soy Dipping Sauce

I LOVE Asian flavors, I think it might be one of my favorites. Every time we go to an Asian restaurant or order in some Chinese, I always want either dumplings or pot stickers. I have yet to try to make dumplings but I have toyed with pot stickers from time to time. I had some left over tofu that I didn’t know what to do with so I decided to make these yummy little things. I used store bought wonton wrappers but you can definitely use your own recipe. It is a little time consuming to prepare so this is a great recipe to make with friends or the kiddos. The dipping sauce is amazing and it totally compliments the filling. This recipe makes about 35 – 40 pot stickers so they are great for a crowd. Give these a try!!

Filling:
1/2 cup extra firm tofu, pressed for 15 minutes to drain any additional liquids and cut into very small cubes
1 cup of cabbage, chopped very small
1 cup of zucchini, chopped very small
1 small yellow onion, chopped very small, about 2 tablespoons reserved for the dipping sauce
2 large garlic cloves, minced or grated, whatever you like best
1 tbsp ginger, grated
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp toasted sesame oil
Pitcher of water
Soy Dipping Sauce, recipe below

*Have a small bowl of water handy, to the side

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and mix well, it will look something like this:

Take your individual wrappers and fill the center with about 1 tablespoon of the filling. You want to make sure you don’t over-fill the pot stickers because they may burst open during cooking and that would be a mess.. trust me! The easiest way I find to do this is by placing the wrapper in my open palm and then using my other hand (my right hand because I am right-handed) to spoon in the filling. Then, with my free hand, I dip my index finger into the water dish and run my wet finger around the perimeter of the wrapper. The water creates a seal around the wrapper! Take the first two opposite corners and bring them together, pressing firmly until they hold. Then, bring in the two side corner to form an almost cross, like this:

OR you could just make any other shape you’re into that day!

To avoid the wrappers from drying out, you want to lay the finished ones on a damp surface, a paper towel or kitchen towel work great. Also, lay a damp paper towel on top so there is a damp atmosphere for them to hangout it. Once you have all of the wrappers filled you’re ready to cook them!

Take a heavy wide skillet and heat to about medium-high heat. Drizzle the bottom with a little bit of olive oil, about 2 teaspoons. place a few of the pot stickers in the pan, don’t over crowd them! My skillet is not that wide so I fit about 7 at a time. As soon as they start to sizzle (which should be immediately, adjust your temperature so this happens right away) add a LITTLE bit of water to the bottom of the pan. Do not pour the water over the pot stickers! Simply pour it in on the side and let it distribute evenly throughout the pan. You want the water to just come up on the pot stickers so about 4 tablespoons depending on the size of your skillet, not much more than that. After you add the water, put a lid on the pan. The idea here is to allow the water to start to evaporate and with the lid’s help you will steam the wrappers as they begin to cook. After about 4 – 5 minutes remove the lid and allow the stickers to sear on the bottom for another 2 minutes or until all the water has evaporated and the wrappers are becoming translucent. Then carefully peel these bad boys up with a spatula! I always preheat the oven to about 175F to keep the already finished pot stickers warm before I serve them. They will look something like this:

My favorite part of this recipe is the dipping sauce, it was just sooo good! And pretty!

Soy Dipping Sauce
1 cup of soy sauce
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
1 small garlic clove, grated or minced very fine
1 teaspoons ginger, grated or minced
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Put all the ingredients into a bowl including the reserved onion and allow to sit for a minimum of 20 minutes, the longer it sits the better it will taste!

This recipe is really easy, just time consuming. It’s great because it can really be modified easily. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

