Warm Lentil & Black Bean Salad

Last night’s dinner was soo good! I haven’t gone to the grocery store yet this week so I just threw together whatever I had and I have to say that it was a gooood choice. I originally wanted to make black bean burgers but I didn’t have enough buns. I did have some pita bread I wanted to get rid of so I just went with a pita-pocket style.. something! I cooked some lentils and added 1 drained can of black beans. Then I added herbs and spices while and served it while it was still warm! MMM. I’m not one of those people who just HAS to have a piece of bread/biscuit with every single meal.. but my husband is so I always try and have something for him. I put his lentil salad in a pita and mine just served straight up. This recipe makes plenty of left overs, which I am thoroughly looking forward to tomorrow.

Warm Lentil & Black Bean Salad

Ingredients
8oz Dried green lentils, rinsed, cooked & drained
1 15oz can of black beans, drained
10 Baby carrots, cut lengthwise and sliced thin (should look like a half moon)
6 White button mushrooms, cleaned, quartered and roasted
1 Garlic clove, grated
1 Lime, zested & juiced
2 Tablespoons of chopped basil
1 Teaspoon of Herbes de Provence
Salt & Pepper to taste
3 Tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

1. Preheat the oven to 400F. Toss the mushrooms in oil and salt and roast for 15 – 20 minutes, or until golden brown.
2. Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and serve warm!

I happen to have some plantains that needed to be dealt with so I prepared them my favorite way.. FRIED.

Plantains are a staple in Hispanic kitchens. They look like bananas on the outside but taste slightly different. We know bananas are ripe and sweet when they are nice yellow color, very little browning. A Plantain is totally opposite. You have to wait until the plantain is almost completely brown before your cook it! Once a plantain is picked it continues to ripen. In the early stages it is green then yellow, just like a banana but the texture is waaay to waxy and starchy to eat. The more brown you let them get, the sweeter it will be! You could, however, use starchy plantains to make chips! They are super delicious.

Fried Plantains
Ingredients
2 Ripe plantains
1/3 Cup of vegetable oil
Salt, to taste

Cut the ends off of both sides of the plantain and run the tip of your knife down the length of it, remove the peel and slice into 1/2 thick rounds. Heat about 1/3 cup of vegetable oil on medium heat in a wide skillet and add the sliced plantain, they should start sizzling immediately. Cooke for 3 – 4 minutes until golden brown, then flip to the other side and repeat. Drain them on a paper towel and sprinkle with salt while they are still hot. You’ve got yourself an amazing side.

And yes, that is roasted cauliflower on the other side of my lentil salad, I’m pretty sure I have a problem. I told my husband yesterday, “I think if cauliflower was the worst thing for you, I would still eat it!”.

HAPPY EATING!

Leave a Reply

