Last Meal

Has anyone ever asked you “If you could eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?”.. my answer is a no-brainer. TABOULI! I literally eat tabouli anywhere between 4 and 7 times a week! My mother’s side of the family is from the Middle East and my grandmother makes the bomb tabouli. When I was a little kid I would eat just tabouli at family dinners and wake up to have the left over tabouli for breakfast.

I still remember my first attempt at making it. I was 12 years old and my love for cooking evolved from there! Everyone makes their tabouli differently. Personally, I like it with plenty of tomatoes and lots of lemon juice. It’s a little time consuming but it’s completely satisfying!

Ingredients:
Serves 2
3 Tbsp bulgur or cracked wheat
1 Bunch parsley, chopped small
3 Roma tomatoes, chopped small
2 Scallions, chopped small (white & green parts)
2 Tbsp chopped mint leaves
Juice of a large lemon
Extra virgin olive oil
Salt

First, add the chopped parsley to bowl and fill the bowl with water and soak the parsley for 10 or 15 minutes. This allows any dirt or grit in the parsley to fall to the bottom of the bowl. Scoop the parsley with your hands or slotted spoon and drain in a fine mesh colander. If you don’t have a fine mesh colander line a regular colander with a paper towel to avoid losing your parsley down the drain! Add the bulgur or cracked wheat to the bottom of a large bowl. Add the remaining ingredients including the parsley, toss, and EAT!!

2 thoughts on “Last Meal

  1. Pingback: Quinoa Taboulie Zucchini Boats | Chef by Invitation

Leave a Reply

