Chipotle Ranch Dressing

A few months ago we had friends invite us over for dinner. It was SO good and, yet, crazy simple. They grilled some chicken with a barbecue sauce coating and served it atop a southwestern style salad that had corn, black beans, tomatoes, avocados and fried tortilla strips. The dressing was simple, too, ranch dressing and a little more barbecue sauce. Ever since that dinner I’ve been wanted to recreate a similar dish.

I’ve never been a fan of mayonnaise/cream based dressings, I’ve always been an oil & vinegar girl. The only times I wish I had ranch dressing is when my french fry needs a quick coating before it hits my mouth… bad habit I picked up in high school. Because of this preference I’ve never kept mayonnaise or creamy dressings at my disposal. My husband likes mayo.. and although I’m not 100% sure why, I picked up a jar when I went on my weekly grocery trip.

For tonight’s dinner I thought of making something light so my mind immediately went to that salad dinner. The ranch dressing I made was soo yummy! I didn’t have some essential ingredients for ‘real’ ranch, like sour cream or buttermilk, but it rocked anyway. I scribbled down the ingredients as soon as I tried it and thought you might like it :). I served this great salad with roasted salmon.. mmmmm

Chipotle Ranch Dressing
Ingredients
Makes about 1 cup
1/3 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup non-fat milk, (start with a little less and adjust the milk to the constancy you are looking for)
2 tbsp parsley, chopped fine
1/2 lime, juiced & zested
1 clove of garlic, grated (size of clove depends on your love-o-meter for garlic)
1 tsp Herbes de Provence
Chipotle chile pepper powder, to taste
Cholula hot sauce (or your favorite brand, to taste)
Salt, to taste

I started with thinning out my mayonnaise and then added all of the other ingredients! So simple!

I roasted white corn on the cob then tossed the kernels with roasted broccoli, tomatoes and lettuce.

TRY THIS ONE!!

Leave a Reply

