Weekend Egg Casserole

Sometimes my husband has to work on Saturday mornings. It’s not too bad because I get to sleep in and he is usually home by 11am and we have the rest of the day to do anything we want.. although, lately it’s been studying. Anyway, he is always in the mood for breakfast food on Saturdays no matter what time his first meal of the day is. Pancakes, waffles, eggs, you name it, he wants it on Saturdays. Now, breakfast isn’t my favorite meal of the day and coming up with new ideas is not an easy thing for me to do because my breakfast is usually a big cup of coffee and a piece of toast.

I woke up early yesterday and decided to make my lovely husband an egg casserole so he could have something to kill the breakfast craving when he got home from work. I made the casserole with random things I had lying around in my refrigerator and I have to say, it was a yummy breakfast 🙂

Egg Casserole
Ingredients
Makes 1 9X9 glass baking dish
4 eggs
1/3 cup nonfat milk
1/4 cup of fat-free half & half
1 scallion, chopped fine
2 tbsp parsley, chopped
1/3 cup garlic & herb mashed potatoes (I happen to have left over mashed potatoes from the previous night’s dinner. You can use any mashed potato recipe you want, I added chopped fresh parsley & thyme, garlic, butter and a little bit of Parmesan cheese. Or you can buy frozen potato hash browns)
2 tbsp cream cheese, pea sized pieces
1 slice of French bread torn into pieces
Hot sauce, to taste
Salt, to taste

Crack the eggs one by one and whisk until well blended, make sue the albumen and the yolk are fully combined. Add all of the other ingredients except for the cream cheese and bread and whisk until everything is combined. I found it a lot easier to just tear of little pea sized pieces of cream cheese and toss them into the mixture. I added the bread last. Pour the mixture into a 9X9 glass dish (or muffin tins!) and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Place your dish (or muffin tin!) in a 350F preheated oven and cook for about 15 minutes. I broiled my casserole for a few minutes to get the nice & crunchy!

This recipe is so versatile, you can really do anything with it. You’re base will be the egg, milk & cream, anything else you add will only enhance the flavors! Next time you can try tomatoes, basil & goat cheese.. you’ll be glad you did!

2 thoughts on “Weekend Egg Casserole

Leave a Reply

