Firey Enchiladas

The weather is finally changing and it’s FALL! I love this weather, no allergies, no humidity and, my personal favorite, I get to wear big comfy sweaters! I always find myself in the mood for hot and spicy foods during the fall. One of my new favorite flavors is Chipotle and I recently discovered Chipotle Pepper in McCormick’s Gourmet Collection and I can’t stop using it! Tonight I wanted to get rid of a can of Enchilada Sauce I’ve had in my pantry so I got to cookin’!

Firey Enchiladas
Ingredients
Makes 6 medium Enchiladas
1 Medium onion, chopped
3 Cloves of garlic, chopped
1/2 lb Ground turkey (your favorite ground meat will work, OR for a vegetarian version just omit this ingredient all together)
1 Can black beans, drained but so not rinse. (use two cans if you omit the meat!)
1 tsp Cumin
1 tsp Chili powder
1 tsp Chipotle pepper
1 Large can of Enchilada sauce
Salt & pepper to taste
6 Medium tortillas

Start off by preheating an oven to 400F. In a medium sauce pot saute the onions and garlic in a little bit of olive oil.

Add the ground meat of your choice and cook through and then add all the spices and black beans. Pour 3 tablespoons of the Enchilada sauce, just enough to get things movin’. This is usually the point where I like to sneak a taste to make sure it’s seasoned to my taste.

Now it’s time to assemble! Lay a tortilla flat on a cutting board and add filling vertically.

Wrap the tortilla tightly and place it in a greased baking dish seam-side down. Repeat the process with the remaining tortillas and filling until it looks like this!

Pour the sauce over the Enchiladas and then LOTS of cheese :).

I found this new cheese at the store with jalapeños – PERFECT for my firey fall dish!


Bake the Enchilada for 20 minutes or until it looks amazing!


This recipe is so easy! Anyone can whip this up in a flash and please a crowd :). One of the best things about this recipe is that it’s fairly basic so you can adjust, add, or replace anything and it will always taste awesome. Happy Fall!

Leave a Reply

