Grilled Salmon & Veggie-Overload Salad


HAPPY NEW YEAR! I can’t believe how fast time goes by! It’s almost February already!

Last night for dinner I had the most amazing meal. It was simple, crisp, light and satisfying. It was very easy to make and can be modified to please your taste buds easily. I wanted to load up on veggies but I also wanted something warm and hearty on the side. My solution was a grilled salmon and veggie over-load salad! It’s hard to put down any kind of measurement for this recipe because it’s really about how much or how little you want of each ingredient.

My favorite way to eat salmon is with an Asian twist (maybe it has something to do with my Asian husband?) so that’s what I made. But the great thing about this recipe is that you can make your favorite salmon recipe, or steak, or chicken!

Grilled Salmon & Veggie-Overload Salad

Ingredients:
Salad greens, you can use your favorite here or get creative, mix & match!
Tomatoes
Cucumber
Onion, raw and sliced thin
Kalamata olives, pitted and chopped
Goat cheese, crumbled
Avocado, chopped
Roasted cauliflower, same method, no chickpeas (although they would be amazing in this)and just salt & pepper

Asian Grilled Salmon

2- 4oz pieces of salmon
¼ cup soy sauce
2 tbsp fish sauce
Juice of 1 lemon
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp sesame oil
(Grated garlic would have MADE this but I was out of garlic, I’m ashamed)
Extra virgin olive oil, to coat

Heat up your grill, indoor or outdoor. Add all of the marinade ingredients to a bowl and place the salmon in the mix. Allow the fish to marinade for 20 minutes or up to 2 hours – but try not to leave it in the marinade for too long, you don’t want to end up with ceviche!

While the fish is soaking up flavor, assemble your salads. I took two huge plates and loaded them up with all the veggies. I drizzled a home made lemon & oregano dressing (recipe below) over the top, but, in keeping with the theme, you can use your favorite dressing here!

When the grill is ready, add the salmon. Grill for about 5 minutes on each side, but this really depends on the thickness of your filets. I love salmon that is just SLIGHTLY raw in the center. We’re not talking raw, sashimi style here, I’m talking like the way you would eat a medium-cooked steak. This was a scary thought for me at first because I only like to eat raw fish if I am at a sushi restaurant where I trust the fish provider. But I got over it because it’s so darn tasty and moist. I can’t eat salmon that is well done!

When the salmon is cooked to your desired doneness, top your salad with it! You are doing to love this salad. Even though it’s not a meat ‘n’ potatoes recipe, it got a “Mmm” from my husband!


Lemon & Oregano Dressing

1 lemon, juiced
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp honey
Pinch of salt
2 tsp dried oregano

Add all the ingredients to a jar with a secure top and shake until combined!

Leave a Reply

