Yoga & Roasted Salmon

When I got home for work today, I quickly changed and got my yoga mat. I set it up in my room and didn’t turn any lights on. I lite an aromatherapy candle and popped in the P90X Yoga X video. This video is an hour and half long! Too long for me when I have to get dinner on the table and finish homework. So I settled for a light 20 minute yoga stretching session. I really wish I could do the whole video, they are so darn flexible! I just don’t know how to clear my mind the way they tell you to, I’m constantly thinking about that needs to get done. Any ideas on how to help me focus are very welcome!

Now on to dinner! I loved this one!

I don’t usually get get bored with food. I wanted something light for dinner and salmon sounded like the perfect ingredient. I love salmon, that’s another food I could eat over and over again in one week if it’s cooked just right. For whatever reason I always associate salmon with Asian flavors. I’m not sure why that is. I decided to roast the salmon differently last night and pair it with an Asian rice versus the salmon carrying all the flavor.

But first, we had a tasty appetizer! Any guesses?? It’s green and crunchy!
Crunchy Kale! If you’ve never tried this stuff you need to go to the store RIGHT now and buy some kale. It’s so good and loaded with calcium and fiber. I just toss it on a backing sheet with olive oil & salt for 15 minutes in a 400F degree oven. Make sure you rip the leaves off of the stems before cooking them.. those stems are bitter!

Now on to the main course!

Roasted Salmon
serves 2
Ingredients
2 salmon filets
salt & pepper to taste
Extra virgin olive oil
Old Bay seasoning
Chili Powder

You’ll notice that I didn’t put quantity alongside my ingredients. That’s because I didn’t take any! I just sprinkled all of the above ingredients onto the salmon and made sure it was all well incorporated into the filets. Place the salmon in a preheated 400F degree oven and roast for 15 – 20 minutes, depending on your desired done-ness.
To pair with the salmon I made brown rice. I’m not a fan of brown rice only because of the texture. No matter how hard I try or how much water I add it’s still a little crunchy. I love it when rice is fluffy & sticky. But anyway, I wanted to kick up flavor for the brown rice so I poured the following sauce on top. Get it? Because of the name? Ha!
Asian Finisher
3 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp toasted sesame oil
1 small garlic clove, grated
1/2 lime zest

Let this sauce marinade while you make the rice. Once the rice is cooked just pour it right over the top. I made some green beans last night, too, so they also got the Asian Finisher sauce :).

After dinner I got some homework done and passed out on the couch at about 9!

Leave a Reply

