Pancake Day & Old Faithful

Happy weekend! My Saturday was spent doing homework.. sad huh? I woke up at 9am! That NEVER happens! Of course I went to bed at 1:30am because we were partying all night! A good friend of mine turns 21 tomorrow and another friend hosted a dessert party in her honor. We all pitched in a brought a dessert. It was so fun!

There were about 20 people there and they played games all night long! I say ‘they’ because I am not much for playing games. I do NOT like to be the center of attention, can you believe it? There is something about getting in front of a group of people acting out characters that makes me very uncomfortable.

Anyway, here’s the rundown of the sweets!

I made these, they are chocolate salted caramel cookies – AMAZING! I got them from this blog.

Sorry for the crappy picture – these are no-bakes, very peanut buttery & yummy

Chocolate on chocolate with chocolate mini cupcakes. Did I mention there’s chocolate on these?

Cute sign, huh? A new, dear friend of ours made these, they were amazing! Literally cookie dough in the center.. mmm

It wouldn’t be a party without cookies!

AND the cake! It split down the middle when it was being transported but it tasted amazing!!

I tried everything but I didn’t overindulge so I’m happy about that :).

Breakfast!

I wanted to start my homework-filled day with a delicious breakfast and Saturdays in my house are pancake day. My husband was out for the day I thought I was out of luck but I could not get my mind off of those darn pancakes! SO, I made some. I didn’t want to make a whole batch so I only made enough batter for 3 ‘cakes. I like to jazz them up so I added a splash of coconut extract & chocolate chips!

I held back from eating all three considering I had my fair share of sugar last night so I only had 1.

I also had two scrambled eggs and a cup of coffee. Fun fact: I HATE egg yolks. I think they taste terrible and the way my husband eats them runny makes me was to cry. I was planning on separating the whites from the yolk but I completely zoned out and it didn’t happen. I just ate around the yolk and gave it to Riley. She was very happy!

And here’s another mug’s debut! I love this one, the color makes me happy : ). I got two of them at Starbucks. I have a soft spot for Starbucks. Not only do they have amazing coffee ALL day long but also I was a barista for over 2 years! But that’s another story for another time.

Let’s fast-forward a whole bunch of hours of Arabic homework right on to lunch! I was craving roasted cauliflower.. but then again, when aren’t I craving it? I just love how it always hits the spot, definitely old faithful! I pared it with four Veggie Patch falafel balls & tabouli.

I dressed up my falafel balls with a homemade yogurt sauce.

Yogurt Sauce

Ingredients

1 small container of plain, non-fat yogurt

1 small clove of garlic, grated

1 tsp chopped fresh mint

1 tsp chopped fresh parsley

Salt, to taste

Combine all the ingredients and enjoy!

Pierre is finally home so we are going to talk about what’s for dinner. I’m looking forward to a quiet evening with my guy!

Leave a Reply

