Chicken & Cheese Tortilla Bake

Hi! Wow, I feel like it’s been so long since I’ve blogged! I have a lot to update you on so let’s get started.

Saturday night was a bust for dinner. We wanted to try a local Indian restaurant and I was SO excited. We called for delivery and no answered the phone. How rude! We called about 4 times before giving up. I was so disappointed! So Pierre ate the 2 left over pancakes I made and I settled for a LÄRABAR because I was still pretty full from my lunch.

Sunday started off great with my usual egg white & hummus combo, minus the sandwich thin. And coffee, of course! After church, Pierre and I had his & hers peanut butter & jelly sandwiches.

When dinner time rolled around I wanted to make something really comforting. I’d made a chicken & spinach tortilla bake from Rachel Ray before and it was so good! I was really in the mood for that but I didn’t have all of the ingredients so I just improvised :).

Chicken & Cheese Tortilla Bake

Ingredients, serves 4

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 chicken breast, cubed (or a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups store-bought salsa verde
  • 3/4 cup ricotta cheese
  • 3 large flour tortillas, cut into wedges
  • 1/2 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 15oz can of black beans, drained & rinsed

First, heat the oven the 400F. Then, sauté onions and garlic until they are fragrant. Add cubed chicken breast. This is where you add the pre-cooked rotisserie chicken, if using. Just shred your favorite piece and add it to the onions & garlic to heat through. Add salt & pepper to taste.

While the chicken & onions are working, take a mixing bowl and add the ricotta cheese and salsa verde.

Now, I’m a bit of a salsa snob. It has to be the right flavor and consistency. My absolute favorite salsa is salsa verde, but not just ANY salsa verde, it has to be Pace. It’s amazing, trust me! The only hiccup is that not every grocery store carries Pace’s version. Anyway, I was out of Pace so I had to use another brand. It was OK but NOT good enough ;).

Next, take 3 soft tortillas, your favorite brand will do. Place the tortillas in a stack on a cutting board and cut in quarters.

Using cooking spray, spray the inside of a pie dish and lay out the first layer of tortillas.

Then, add a layer of the chicken and onion mixture. Add the black beans on top of that.

Then, add the cheese and salsa mixture. On top of that add shredded cheese. The original recipe calls for pepper jack cheese which is great because it’s spicy. I didn’t have pepper jack so I used shredded mozzarella and added jalapeno hot sauce on top.

Continue layering the dish until you get to the last layer, topped off with the last tortilla. Top it off with the remaining cheese and throw it in the oven for about 25 minutes or until the top is nice and crunchy, like this!

Did you wonder why we cut the tortillas before we layered the dish? Because when you pull it out of the oven it’s going to be a cheesy, gooey mess! The pre-cut tortillas make it a whole lot easier to dish out.

I paired this dish with kale chips! It was so good and totally hit the comfort spot :).

One thought on “Chicken & Cheese Tortilla Bake

  1. Pingback: Bean & Barley Tortilla Bake | foodtherapyfun

Leave a Reply

