Spring Feeling No More

I have a great recipe for your guys today!

Last week, on Friday, the temperature hit 72! We were so excited and even though I was indoors for most of it I got that ‘spring’ feeling… until I saw the forecast for this week. Monday night we were hit with for 4 inches of snow and it’s been really cold! I no longer have spring on my mind, I have ,”do I need my gloves today?” on my mind.

Don’t get me wrong, I love snow. I love the way it smells and the way is sparkles in the sun. I love how the trees look carrying snow – it’s one of the most beautiful sites when I’m driving to work in the winter. But I guess I’ve just had enough winter for one season.

The only good thing that came out of this snow fall was food ;). I made a lentil soup that was very tasty. I made the mistake of not looking when I add salt (stupid, I know!) and I over-salted the soup a little. My husband was nice enough not to say anything about it when I mentioned it except that when we added the lime it was much better. Oh yes, there’s lime in this recipe.

Lentil & Kielbasa Stew

Ingredients, serves 4
onion, sliced julienne
3 garlic cloves, chopped
½ Turkey Kielbasa, sliced about 1/2 inch thick (I used one a pre-made kielbasa, they have they in the hot dog section of the grocery store. I’ll show you what to do with the other half in our next recipe!)
1 can of diced tomato, liquid drained
2 cups dried, green lentils, rinsed
5 cups of liquid (I forgot to buy chicken stock so I used 1 cup chicken stock & 4 cups water)
2 tbsp Cumin
1 tbsp Chili powder
1 tsp Chipotle powder
Salt
Pepper
Chopped parley, a handful will do
2 large limes, wedged into 4 pieces
Olive oil

Get your big pot out for this recipe! First, add the sliced onions and garlic to the olive oil on medium heat. Sautee for a few minutes until translucent and they start to get a little color on them.Next, add the kielbasa and allow it to brown up a bit.

Then, add the cumin, chili powder & chipotle powder followed by the tomatoes, lentils & liquid.

Bring this up to a low boil for about 20 – 30 minutes, or until the lentils are cooked through.

In the meantime, slice your lemons and chop your parsley. Once the lentils are tender, add salt & pepper to taste along with the handful of parsley. Serve a piping hot bowl of this with a lime wedge!

My man HAS to have bread, Naan seemed perfect!

You should make this when you are feeling a chill, it’s nice and spicy and will warm you right up!

Leave a Reply

