Mmm Garlic!


Hi! I hope your Monday hasn’t been too terrible ;). My morning started off with a 2.13 mile run, and YES, the .13 is VERY important. My goal was to run 2.3 miles today but I ran out of time and we had to leave the gym. I took Jack3d again this morning, it felt great. I’m starting to love that stuff!

After the gym, Pierre and I went to the grocery store to pick up some things because we were out of FOOD! For breakfast I had my favorite egg & hummus sandwich, delicious as usual! But only if served with a side of coffee ;).

Let’s rewind a little to last night’s dinner –
Last night I did something bad. I made spaghetti! I CAN not control myself around a bowl of spaghetti. Oh my, yum. I normally make my own sauce, which I LOVE. I don’t usually buy jarred sauces but I was in a bind and.. I did.. I’m sorry!! The main reason I don’t buy jarred sauces (besides the fact that I love being in the kitchen) is because they tend to be too sweet. My food has to be savory and the only thing that should contain any kind of sweetness is my dessert! Well, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised when I cracked open a jar of sauce that didn’t need any kind of ‘enhancements’ from my pantry!

I made this spaghetti dinner a little more balanced by pairing it with grilled zucchini and roasted chicken breast. Here are the money shots ;).

MMM

I yummy sauce – maybe I like it because it has ‘garlic’ in the title ;).
Now, back to today! I work for a company that franchised hotels and I am currently at an office working for two of the hotels we own. Once a month each property holds an employee luncheon where they announce employee of the month and any important information everyone needs to know. Well, at these luncheons, our general managers are in charge of the menu and they never disappoint! Also, they never land on the same day but this month it just happened to be!

Today’s menu included a chicken fajita/nacho bar at hotel #1 & meatballs subs at hotel #2.. see what I mean? I didn’t take any photos of what I ate because that might be too embarrassing, but honestly, I did forget to snap pics. I ate an entire chicken fajita at hotel #1 because I forgot about subs at hotel #2! Talk about a dilemma! When I got to hotel #2 I just ate a small salad & a few meatballs.

When dinnertime rolled around, Pierre had another awesome idea. Piccata. We love capers in this house and if you’ve never tried they I would suggest that you do. Right now, this recipe! This recipe was adapted from this Giada DeLaurentiis recipe I found years ago. I’ve changed it up a little but it’s pretty much the same.

I seasoned the salmon with salt, olive oil, chili powder & old bay. I roasted it in a 415F degree oven for about 15 minutes. Don’t overcook the salmon!

Next, I mixed up some ingredients in a bowl & tossed the spaghetti (see what I mean?) right in. Here’s what I used:
1 garlic cove, grated (use your microplane!)
1 lemon, zested & juiced
1 tsp of capers, chopped
½ tsp of the caper pickling juice
1 tsp olive oil

On of my absolute favorite kitchen tools! It works great!
Don’t forget to scrape out the yummy bits in the back!When zesting any citrus, make sure to only take off the outer layer, you do not want to grate down to the pith (white inner layer).


This meal is so delicious and satisfying. WARNING: It’s VERY garlic-y. If you don’t like too much garlic flavor in your meals (who ARE you?) then only use a very small clove or ½ a clove. You will serve this meal with raw garlic. The reason we grate it is so there are no large chucks of garlic in the dish.

I hope you try this one soon!

2 thoughts on “Mmm Garlic!

Leave a Reply

