Perfect Go-To Meal!

Hi everyone! I feel like such a slacker this week! I haven’t posted anything new for you to try :(. My week has been very busy and today I spent almost 4 hours on working on a midterm!

I have a great recipe for your today. Because I knew I had to work on my midterm, I opted for a quick and easy brunch. We didn’t have our usual pancakes because Pierre was out most of the morning. I woke up, went to the grocery store and came home ready to eat! This recipe is an awesome go-to meal, it’s delicious and perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Black Bean Quesadillas with Salsa Verde
Ingredients, serves 1

  • 2 flour tortillas
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese, I used Mexican cheese blend but any cheese will do really (I mean, it’s cheese, they’re all good 😉 )
  • 1/2 black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp Mrs Dash Southwest Chipotle
  • Salsa Verde (only the good kind, you know what I’m talking about!)

We live in an apartment so we aren’t allowed to have a grill. My mother-in-law gifted us a Cuisinart indoor grill a few years ago for Christmas and I love it! I use it about 4 or 5 times a week and you can turn the grill over and it’s an instant griddle! For this recipe I use the griddle but you can use a regular pan if that’s all you have.
Heat the griddle at medium and place one of the tortillas on the griddle with half the cheese. Let me tell you something about tortillas. I’ve read almost every single nutrition label of all the tortilla brands and there is essentially no difference. They are all pretty much heavy on the crabs no matter if it claims ‘Low Carb!’ <– not true. Look it up. Anyway, I like to use these made by Mission, the are so doughy and yummy!
Next, add the black beans and all of your spices. This is where you can get creative. You can put in pretty much any kind of meat/seafood/protein possible. Any left over chicken, shrimp, steak or eggs, throw ’em in! And if you’re not a meat-eater then go for tofu or even mixed mushrooms. Whatever you put in this I would still keep the black beans because they add an amazing texture to the ‘dillas. You can also load this up with chopped veggies! I can keep going.. really.. but I think you get the idea ;).
Next, add the rest of the cheese. I do this so the other tortilla will stick to the filling. If you don’t add cheese here, your filling will fall out of the edges and when you cut the ‘dilla it will be a disaster.. and you don’t want that! I mean.. a completely edible disaster, but still! After this step, top with the other tortilla.
After about 10 minutes, (very carefully) flip the quesadilla over to the other side and allow it to brown slightly, like side #1!

OK, for those of your on the edge of your seat, here is my favorite salsa! (Drum roll PLEASE!)
TA-DA!! Not impressed??
How about now? Gosh, I l-o-v-e this stuff! Pierre isn’t a huge fan so when I make him a ‘dilla I’ll serve him the boring ol’ red stuff.. whatever. You’ve got to give this a try!

Anyway, back to the good stuff.
Transfer your amazing creation to a cutting board and with a sharp knife, cut your quesadilla into quarters. The best way to do this is by putting the tip of the knife on one side and bring the back of the knife down, across the tortilla, in one fluid motion. Then, rotate your cutting board (or ‘dilla) 180 degrees and repeat the process.

MMMMmmmMMMMMMMM.

Try this one soon and let me know how it turns out! Now, I’m going to eat a pizza with my guy before going to see The Adjustment Bureau with Matt Damon (mmm).
Leave a Reply

