Alternative to a Classic

WOW! Do I have an awesome recipe for you! I am actually kind of proud of myself for this one :). There I was, just driving home like every other day, when I started thinking about what I was going to make for dinner. You see, normally I buy meat, chicken and fish in bulk when it’s on sale and freeze portions for two when I get home. While at the store this week, a pre-cooked smoked turkey sausage caught my eye and this morning I told Pierre his meat options, he chose the smoked sausage. So, I looked online for some quick recipe but nothing caught my eye. I starting doing mental inventory of my fridge and I came up with this.. it was AMAZING!

Sorry about the unbelievably long title.. I couldn’t think anything else ;).

Feta & Sundried Tomato Spaghetti with Smoked Sausage

Ingredients, serves 4

  • 1lb of cooked spaghetti
  • 1 pre-cooked smoked turkey sausage link, sliced small
  • I medium onion, sliced julienne
  • 2 large garlic cloves, chopped small
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 5 sundried tomatoes, chopped small
  • ¼ cup of reserved pasta water (if you are using left over pasta like me, you can use water)
  • 2 tbsp feta cheese, crumbled
  • ¼ tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 handful of chopped parsley
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and add salt. Toss in the pasta and give it a stir. Allow the pasta to cook for 8 minutes or until just cooked through, al dente. Scoop out about ¼ cup of the cooking liquid and set aside. Drain the pasta, toss back in the hot pot and add about 2 tbsp of olive oil. I toss the pasta with the oil so it won’t stick together.

Heat a sauté pan to medium heat. Add a few turn of olive oil to the pan and throw in the sliced onion. Cook the onion for about 2 minutes and add the chopped garlic. What great recipe doesn’t start with these two ingredients?? I mean, seriously! This combination is lethal.

After about 2 minutes add the sliced sausage. The say you slice the sausage doesn’t really matter as long as they are all about the same size. Let the sausage brown on both sides for about 4 – 5 minutes. Add salt, pepper & cayenne pepper.

This is the pre-cooked sausage I used, I really liked it!

Add the chopped tomato, fresh & sundried and turn the heat to low. This is where you may need your cooking liquid. If the tomato you use is not very juicy, add the cooking liquid. Put a lid on the put and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes.

After 10 minutes, turn off the heat and add the feta cheese & parsley. Last, but definitely NOT least, add the cooked spaghetti. Toss it all together and, viola!

This recipe only too me about 30 minutes, it was perfect! Try this one soon, It’s really so amazing. Not to mention I had a happy husband on my hands ;). He doesn’t like Italian sausage (what??) because of the fennel, so he said this was a good alternative for the classic ‘pasta & sausage’ combination.

So, this morning I had an early alarm set, 4:30am, and I did not hear it! So we didn’t make it to the gym but I’m planning on calling it a night early so I can make it tomorrow!

If you’ve been following my daily workouts, you’ve probably noticed my lack of miles on the treadmill. More on that tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

