I Take Dark Showers

Creepy title, no? Well, it’s true and I don’t care who knows it. I love taking a shower with the lights off. There is something about just standing under a hot pray of water in total darkness that takes me to another place. I’m trying to remove all of the negative stress in my life and this is one of the ways I do it.

After dragging myself out of bed and to the gym, getting into a dark showers gives my eyes a break. I am able to think more clearly and imagine I’m under a beautiful waterfall somewhere WARM. This is a time where I can get my thoughts together and ready myself for the day ahead.

I’m not 100% sure if showering in the dark is technically considered a stress reliever by professionals, but it should be! It definitely is in my book and if you haven’t tried it, you totally should

Now that daylight savings is rolling around again (don’t forget to set your clocks forward one hour this Sunday, 3/13!), I won’t be able to enjoy dark showers unless I take a shower at night.. and I don’t roll like that. Sure, I have blinds in my bathroom window but it’s a HUGE window and no matter how hard I try, light always shines through.

I guess the great thing about it is that I can always look forward to dark showers again in the fall! Until then… I’ll have to cook up another way to relieve stress.. haha, get it??

Have you ever taken a dark shower? How did it make you feel?

One thought on “I Take Dark Showers

Leave a Reply

