Corned Beef First-Timer

Yes, I am a corned beef first-timer! I tried it for the first time when a co-worker brought in leftovers and let me try some. It was really delicious! I went out that day and bought a big beautiful cut of corned beef. I didn’t really take photos of the corned beef, sorry! I do have a photo of the final product!

I put the beef in the crock pot and cooked it for 8 hours on low. I added one large onion cut into large chunks, garlic cut in large chucks and the pickling spice packet that comes with the corned beef. I poured water over everything until the beef was just covered.
The photo is dark, sorry! I paired it with roasted cauliflower and Pierre also had rice from our previous night’s dinner.

The next morning my husband REALLY impressed me. He does NOT cook, the man hates it. He doesn’t like the pressure and has to follow a recipe exactly.. not something I do often. I don’t mine that he doesn’t cook because I love it so much but every now and then he blows my cooking out of the water! He woke up and said, “I want to make corned beef hash and eggs!”. I was not going to protest ;).
My corned beef hash was topped with egg whites, my favorite!
This is his plate.. runny eggs.. don’t get me started.

“What recipe did he use”, you might ask. Well, he got on Foodgawker.com (I’m so proud!) and found this recipe.. and followed it to a T! The only difference was that we only had one red potato so no Russett. You need to try this!! It’s delicious!!

Leave a Reply

