Home Is Where The Heart Is. The End.

<!– /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:Cambria; panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:auto; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:3 0 0 0 1 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:Cambria; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:SectioThe meaning of ‘home is where the heart is’ has completely evolved for me today. I’ve always characterized home is being where my mom and family are in sunny Florida. That idea was skewed when I realized that my heart is where Pierre is.

I love my family, they are a huge part of who I am today. I would do anything for them, anything – no questions asked. I’ve lived my life for the past 4 years apart from them and I’ve lived them always searching for the next plane ticket and the next holiday so I could go visit. Pierre has always been accommodating to me in this even though he may not understand it. His family isn’t as tightly knit as mine is. I still remember looking at him like he had 5 heads when he told me he doesn’t see his family for every holiday. Oh, how far we’ve come since then.

My heart left this morning and is currently driving on I-70 to start a new life for us in Michigan and I can honestly say my chest is hollow. Like I said before, we’ve hardly been apart in the past 5 1/2 years so this is hard to swallow. I have so much love and respect for what he is doing right now; I’m almost beaming with pride.

For now, I’m feeling sad and alone and helpless. I know these feelings won’t last forever but I think I’m feeling ‘self-pity’ right now and I almost don’t want anyone to talk me out of it. Almost ;).

We went to dinner on Friday night with a group of friends to wish Pierre a good trip and he was shocked how many people wanted to spend one last night with him. The final reservation count was 23 people! We felt so loved and enjoyed being with everyone. We went to Chevy’s, one of my favorite Tex-Mex restaurants. If you’ve never been to a Chevy’s you should look to see if there is one in you area, great little place! After Chevy’s we all went over to Cold Stone Creamery and inhaled ice cream.. soo delicious! We ended the night at a friend’s house and we played a board game called Boxers & Briefs, hilarious!

The highlight of the night was definitely our friends gifting us a scrapbook with letters from all of them. I’m surprised I didn’t cry when they presented the book to us at the restaurant – but I definitely cried when I started reading. The heartfelt notes and prayers are so much more then I expected when we moved to Maryland. I was sure my life was over because I would be apart from my family. But the truth is, I have family in Maryland, too.

With Pierre gone I have no doubt that my family will step in and make me feel even more loved. I already have an invite out for tonight! It’s funny, my two friends live together and they both invited me over without knowing it.. I love them :).

I’ll leave you with a photo of Pierre wearing his ‘birthday’ hat.. thanks to a friend who told a waitress it was his big day ;).

4 thoughts on “Home Is Where The Heart Is. The End.

Leave a Reply

