Individual Beef Wellingtons

Pierre left last week we had his sister & her family over for dinner. His sister is a personal trainer and takes her and her family’s health very seriously. It’s something I’ve always admired about her! SO I was thinking of making baked salmon with roasted veggies. Simple, light and delicious. But because it was Pierre’s going away dinner I thought I would let him decide. Our conversation went something like this..

Me: “Honey, what do you think we should make for dinner on Saturday? I was thinking Salmon or something light.”

Pierre: “I want beef wellington.. maybe some roasted asparagus. Oh! And mashed potatoes!”

Me: “OK.. but I don’t think they eat beef very much.”

Pierre: “I don’t care, It’s about me.”

Haha. I love him. He’s come a very long way since I met him and he only ate McDonald’s and Taco Bell. I was very excited about his choices and honestly, a little proud :).

Beef Wellington is traditionally made with beef tenderloin and it’s wrapped in pastry and baked. I came across a Rachel Ray recipe a while back that was individual beef wellingtons! I played off of her recipe but I didn’t follow it exactly. I don’t dig on Pate.. not since in culinary school I had to make it.. not a pretty site. I couldn’t find beef tenderloin at a good price so I improvised. This recipe is SO easy but it’s a little time consuming so keep that in mind. It’s totally worth it!

Individual Beef Wellingtons
Serves 4

Ingredients
2 puff pastry sheets, one Pepperidge Farm box thawed
4 Beef sirloin steaks at room temperature
2 cups button mushrooms, cleaned with a damp paper towel and sliced, stems removed
10-12 fresh thyme stems, leaves only please!
2 large garlic cloves, sliced
1/2 white onion, chopped
1 cup red wine
Salt & Pepper to taste
Olive oil

Heat a skillet to medium heat and add the onion & garlic. I used an awesome Christmas present my sister-in-law got me last year to slice my garlic, it’s a Pampered Chef garlic slicer. You get these amazing paper thin slices of garlic. Toss for a minute or two and then add the sliced mushrooms. Toss them around for a few minutes until they start to soften and add salt and pepper to your liking.
Take your thyme stems and tear off the leaves. If your a right-y like me, hold the top of the stem in your left hand and with your right hand gently pull back to take the leaves off the woody stem. Gather all of the leaves and give them a rough chop.
Add them to the mushrooms and then pour in the wine. Be careful! There is alcohol in wine (DUH) and if you have a gas range you could start a fire! If you’re worried about this simply turn the stove off and pour in the wine. When it’s safely in the skillet turn the heat back on.
Allow the wine to simmer for 10 – 15 minutes until it all looks like this:
Turn the heat off and allow the mushrooms to come to room temperature. This is a very important step!

Heat a grill, salt & pepper your steaks and put them on the grill. Sear for just 3 minutes on each side and allow them to come to room temperature as well. You don’t want to cook these to your liking, only half way because they will finish cooking in the oven.
Lay out your puff pastry sheets on a cutting board (please excuse my cheap-o plastic ones!) and cut in half. Put a 1/4 of the mushroom mixture in the middle, then lay the steak on top of and fold the dough over creasing the edges. You want the mushrooms and steak at room temperature so you don’t melt the puff pastry, it’s very difficult to handle if the dough is warm. Flip over (so the mushrooms are on the top now) and place on a greased (I used cooking spray) baking sheet. Repeat this until all 4 steaks are ready to go in the oven.




I forgot to egg wash these but you shouldn’t! Just beat an egg and then with a pastry brush apply it to the tops of the wellingtons.

Bake these for about 20 minutes or until the pastry is golden brown. Let these rest for about 10 minutes and serve! When you cut into these you will get a delicious bite of steak, mushrooms & pastry all married together by the wine. It’s killer!
Make this for someone special!

Leave a Reply

