P.F. Chang’s – Remake!

<!– /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:Cambria; panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:auto; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:3 0 0 0 1 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:Cambria; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:SectionI LOVE P.F. Chang’s! It’s one of my favorite restaurants ever. I think one of my top 5 cuisines is Asian cooking and the Chang’s always is amazing and consistent. One of my favorite dishes there is actually a side, the spicy green beans! They are ridiculous. So flavorful, crisp and they have just the right amount of heat.

Yesterday was my last day at my job (I start my new job Monday!) and a couple of ladies took me to P.F. Chang’s for lunch. It was amazing. I had a cup of hot & sour soup to start, the vegetarian lettuce wraps (side note: How do they get their tofu so firm? That never works for me! Tips?) AND last, but definitely NOT least, a small side order of the spicy green beans.

I was dreaming about my lunch all afternoon that when I got home I was determined to remake the green beans!

Spicy Green Beans

Serves 1

Ingredients

1 cup green beans, I used whole frozen beans but you can use whatever you like best

2 large cloves of garlic, rough cut – you big chucks here!

1tsp toasted sesame oil

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp chili sauce

Extra virgin olive oil

Heat a skillet (or Wok!) to medium heat. Add just enough EVOO to coat the bottom. Add the garlic and toss around for a minute or two. Be careful not to burn the garlic! It’s nasty stuff and you’ll have to wash the skillet and start all over to get the bitter garlic taste outta there! If you cut the garlic into large enough chunks you will reduce your chances of burning it.

Throw in the green beans and toss around for a few minutes, 3 tops. Add the remaining ingredients and allow everything to simmer for 2-3 minutes until the soy sauce is reduced and, in my care, the green beans are thawed ;).

This stuff is MAGIC! I will make anything taste Asian. MMmmmMMm.

This came out ALMOST like P.F. Chang’s! I was so proud of myself for this one! Try it soon! It makes an awesome side dish, maybe a little salmon & rice on the side!

I’m off to run a few errands today, I hope I get everything done I need before my first day on Monday! I hope you have an awesome Saturday!

Leave a Reply

