Comfort

For the last few weeks I’ve been so consumed… is STUFF! Since Pierre left, I’ve spent every waking moment either at work, studying or the phone/Skype with Pierre.

JOB:
My new job is a late shift. Well, it’s more like morning into night, 11am – 8pm. I am a morning person and getting off work at 8 (or sometimes as late as 9!) really stinks. This job is completely different from the job I’ve been use to for 3 years. I’m a manager now and I have about 20 employees per night. I really enjoy what I’m doing but I also know it’s not something I would be comfortable with for an extended amount of time. I am so thankful that I have this opportunity to learn from and I’m going to rock at this position until it is my time to go.

WORKOUTS:
It’s a little demanding on my legs, I’m standing almost the entire shift and moving and walking around. We actually average anywhere between 3 – 5 miles in just walking per night! Since Pierre left, I’ve lost 7 lbs.. I think it’s mostly due to this job because my first week I dropped 3 lbs! My right knee completely gave out on me after my first shift. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that I’ve been sitting at a desk for almost 3 years? I couldn’t believe it! My workouts took a bit of a hit there but my knee is feeling better and I’m getting back into the swing of things. I’m thinking a run tomorrow!

FOOD:
As much as I love food and cooking and exploring my own kitchen, it’s been really difficult to cook fun stuff since Pierre left… are you guys seeing a pattern here? I’ve been sticking to lettuce for the past few weeks! Sure I throw some baked chicken or black beans on the lettuce but I won’t bore you with that. I can’t wait to get my man back so I can cook again! There’s no point in cooking awesome stuff if you have no one to try it and show it off to ;).

LIFE:
My life has been all over the place. I’ve had good days, great days, and horrible ones, too. For the most part they are good days and the fact that we have so much technology available to us (i.e. SKYPE) I get to see my husband every day. Even though I can’t touch him or feel him touch me, it makes my days so much better. I haven’t had much time to see my friends, I work completely opposite hours from them, now, and I even work every other weekend. My days off are days like Mondays and Thursdays, days everyone else works! I’m getting by, that’s all.

SO, sometimes a girl needs something to comfort her. A few days ago it was raining alllll day and it looked like this outside of my windows:

All I wanted was a hot chocolate. I don’t know why but that’s all I wanted. So I made one! I added semi-sweet chocolate chips to the bottom of a mug, added a little pumpkin pie spice and poured hot milk over it all. I stirred for 2 – 3 minutes (I used a detachable whisk from a handheld mixer) until all the chocolate was melted and viola! It was awesome and totally hit the spot! You can add as much chocolate as you want and you could mix up the spices. You could go with cinnamon or even add extracts like coconut or almond.


p.s. don’t forget the mini marshmallows!

One thought on “Comfort

  1. Your hot chocolate sounds wonderful, totally going to have to try that soon. I bet it would be good with some peanut butter chips too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

