I Finally Did It!

I FINALLY ran outside for the first time! I NEVER use to think I could be one of those girls who I would see running outside. NEVER. I use to tell myself that I would never be that girl. I use to say to myself, ‘You’re not strong enough’, ‘Who are you kidding? You would never do that alone’, ‘You’re too scared!’. It makes me so mad that I use to kick myself like that!

WELL, today, thanks to The Hungry Runner Girl, I hit the pavement. I started reading her blog this week and I was so inspired. I want to be someone who is proud of herself for pushing to get what she wants in life. I want to be healthy, I want to be a runner, I want to experience the emotion of finishing a half marathon or even a marathon! I want to be someone who at least tried to reach those goals.

I woke up, drank Jack3d and drove to a local park. A friend of mine has been telling me that she runs there and I’ve been dying to go since last summer. There is a lake and it’s a 1.5 mile loop around. It literally took 10 minutes to get to the park! It’s so pretty, too. There are tons of runners and bikers enjoying the beautiful weather. It was so peaceful and freeing!
I’m so used to the treadmill that it was a little harder then I expected. By the time I as around the lake I was panting! I guess it could have something to do with the fact that I haven’t really ran this week. And at one point I was running into the wind. But I don’t care! I don’t care that I was slow, I don’t care that I was panting at the end, and I don’t care that I could only do one lap.

I.DID.IT. and you know what? I am so proud of myself! It was definitely the next step for me in my running race (ha, get it?). I needed to get out, I needed to find myself outside, like a real runner.HAPPY. (sorry for the gross face.)
I’m so cool…
2 thoughts on “I Finally Did It!

  1. That's so awesome! I love being outside, it's so fresh and happy! (Aided greatly by the fact that the gym smells like sweaty strangers…yuck!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

