Hot Crab Dip

“Crabcakes & football! That’s what Maryland does!” Name that movie!

Many people have heard that Maryland is know for their crabs.. yum! I NEVER eat or buy crabs because my poor husband is allergic to shellfish. What a horrible allergy! No calamari, no shrimp, no lobster, NO CRAB!

SO I’m taking advantage of his absence and eating up! My sister-in-law had a neighbor bring by a big bag of steamed crabs. When I went to pick up Riley (she kept her for a few days while I moved) she insisted that I take some crabs with me. Let’s just say she didn’t have to tell me twice!

This isn’t the best recipe for a few reasons. First, I’ve never made crab dip and second, I didn’t have cheddar cheese. I used mozzarella and it came out really stringy. The flavor was pretty good but I KNOW I can do better!

Hot Crab Dip
serves 4 – 6
Ingredients

1 cup crab meat, picked through to make sure there is no shell
1 cup Ranch dressing
1 cup mayonnaise
1 cup shredded cheese (cheddah is bettah! I used mozzarella because it’s all I had)
1 tbsp spicy brown mustard
1 large clove of garlic, mashed
1 tbsp basil, i tore it with my hands but feel free to chop or chiffonade!
2 tbsp Old Bay seasoning
Salt & pepper to taste

Crack your crabs! Well, if you’re using the real deal, that is. I did! Check these babies out!

They were pretty small so this is all the meat we got out of them.
And here’s what I used minus the S, P & Old Bay.

Add everything to a bowl, except for the basil, and stir! I popped the bowl into the microwave for 30 second intervals, while stirring in between each round to melt all the cheese. Once it was nice and hot I added the basil and stirred well.

Pair this up with cracker or veggies!
Happy crabbing!

Leave a Reply

