Tyler Knows Scones

I’ve attempted scones a few times and the only batches that I have ever loved have been Tyler Florence recipes. I’m not huge on breakfast foods and I am usually satisfied with a cup of coffee and maybe an egg sandwich here and there. But there’s something about a cup of coffee and a scone that makes my heart happy.

With our Haiti trip and moving to Michigan all within the next 2 weeks, I’ve had to make sure I don’t have any left over food in the fridge. I had a pint of blueberries (my favorite fruit!) and while eating them right out of the container is my favorite way to have them, I wanted something a little different. Also, I’m experiencing a little stress right now so I wanted to bake. I decided to follow my favorite scone recipe and I’m so glad I did!

I changed it up just a bit. I used buttermilk instead of cream because that’s what I had. I also used an entire pint of blues and I didn’t make the lemon glaze. Just before putting them in the oven I brushed the tops with buttermilk and then sprinkled them with brown sugar. I made the lemon glaze once before and I just think they are better without it. I used a storage container to cut the dough into even circles, about 2 1/2 – 3″.

Here are some action shots :).
Do yourself a favor and makes these!

Leave a Reply

