Heart for Haiti

It’s been a while, huh? A lot had happened in the last three weeks!

I wanted to start off my saying that I had an amazing time in Haiti. The experiences I had there will forever be etched in my mind and I am go grateful for them. I also couldn’t have picked a better 16 people to go on the trip with. Our team was on point and we really left there loving one another a great deal and with a closeness you can only get by sharing life changing moments with. There was another church we went with so half of our team hardly new each other. I love how we’ve all just connected and will have Haiti to bring us back forever.

A lot of people have asked, “What did you do there?” “Did you build things?” “Did you help paint any churches?”. It’s so hard to answer those questions. People want to hear stories of things that you did with your hands, that you can see with your eyes if you went back a year later. And to tell you the truth, I don’t have any stories like that for you. But I do have stories about how members of our group had a clinic day with the community and helped hand out things we have readily available like Ibuprofen, Tylenol and band aids. And how there were some people they couldn’t help and they had to tell them to wait until a surgery team got there in October, but we knew some of them my no live that long. I have stories about how we played with orphans who just wanted to be held and feel love.

I have stories about how we encouraged two very young missionaries (and newlyweds!) to continue to listen to God on their hearts for Haiti and about how brave they were to be living there and continuously putting others before themselves. I have stories about how we held a bible story play (David & Goliath) for about 500 kids in the village and then gave them a craft to finish. The look of excitement in their eyes is something I will never forget. I can tell you about TOMS shoes and how they donated over 30,000 pairs of shoes to the mission organization we were with (NWHCM) and our group had the honor to give 160 kids shoes. I could tell you about the little girl we had a birthday party for and how she’d never had one even though she was turning 12. I could tell you about the fun day we planned and went to the beach. We took the orphans and some of the kids of the Haitian works (who work for the mission). It as amazing.

Just being there encourages so many others to go and this trip did more for me then I could ever build with my hands in Haiti. The only way for you to truly understand what it’s like to be there is to go. No amount of stories or photos will ever do it justice. Pierre is already planning his trip for next year and has a running checklist of what to bring. I love seeing his passion for Haiti, he’s such an inspiration. I would go back tomorrow if I could. I’ll leave you guys with some photos I took on the trip.

Beautiful countryside At the top of a voodoo temple Fitting kids with new shoes

One thought on “Heart for Haiti

  1. Pingback: Roast – A Michael Symon Restaurant | foodtherapyfun

Leave a Reply

