Pumpkin Scones

The weather here has been teeter-tottering between summer and fall. We’ll have one week of straight fall, lows in the 30’s and 40’s with highs in the 50’s and 60’s, my personal favorite weather. But then the next week we will have highs in the 70’s and even 80’s at times. It’s not fair. I want fall to come and STAY. Today’s weather is perfect if you ask me.. 55 and pouring rain, I know, I’m strange.

Since the weather began doing it’s little dance I started craving fall flavors which included an ingredient close to my heart. PUMPKIN! I began falling in love with pumpkin around the time Pierre and I got married. My family never made pumpkin pie around the holidays so I was never introduced to it. BUT when I married Pierre and he said he liked pumpkin pie I went to store and picked up the ingredients … in July… to make sure I could master it. AND I mastered it, alright. One bite was all it took, I was instantly a pumpkin lover for life.

Have you heard of the pumpkin shortage this year? Yep. Hurricane Irene put the Northeast in a tough spot in many ways. One of those includes messing with their pumpkin patches. I’ve been looking for pumpkin for weeks and haven’t been able to find it. I went to several grocery stores and had no luck. BUT Monday I went to yet another store and FOUND PUMPKIN!! YAY! I bought two 24oz cans. Don’t hate.

I made these pumpkin scones that I found on Sweet Pea’s Kitchen blog through Foodgawker yesterday and they turned out pretty great. On a side-note: If you haven’t yet discovered Foodgawker you MUST. It goes on for miles and miles and has amazing recipes. Each recipe takes you to a different blog. That’s how I found a lot of the blogs I follow. AND there’s a search bar if you’re looking for something in particular. AND back to the scones.. I would have added a little more pumpkin or even cinnamon chips as Pierre suggested. But overall they were really yummy. I didn’t make the frosting because I prefer my scones to be plain but Pierre’s favorite part is the frosting. I happen to have a can of Betty Crocker cream cheese  frosting so I made sure his had a slather of it before I gave it to him.

Let me know your thoughts on this recipe! I’ll lave you with a belly shot… here’s baby at 15 weeks!

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Scones

  1. Love pumpkin AND scones!! 🙂
    Last year I had to hunt to find pumpkin to bake with. I finally found some at Trader Joe’s and bought 5 cans. It was crazy!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Syrup & Butter, Oh My! | foodtherapyfun

Leave a Reply

