Tahini Lentil Salad

I think I just outdid myself. I don’t know, maybe it’s the baby talking but I am in LOVE with this recipe! I found it on this blog and I am so happy I stumbled across it. I did change the main ingredient from yellow slit peas to brown lentils. And I didn’t add yogurt to the dressing. It’s a little different but just bare with me, the end result ROCKS. I love Mediterranean flavors and tahini paste screams just that. It’s basically a sesame seed paste. I did have to go to a Middle Eastern grocery store to find it but sometimes you can find it at the regular store.

Tahini Lentil Salad
Adapted from Taste of Beirut, serves 4

  • 1/2 cup tahini paste
  • 1 large garlic clove, grated
  • 1/4 water
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • 2 cups cooked lentils, about 1 1/2 cups dried (just simmer in water for about 15 minutes or until they are tender, drain)
  • 1/4 cup tomato, diced
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1/4 cup red onion, diced
  • Large handful chopped parsley
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt & pepper, to taste

First, cook your lentils, drain them, and let them hang out in a bowl while you prep the rest of the ingredients. To make the tahini dressing you will need to mix the first 4 ingredients plus 1/2 tsp cumin in a bowl. The dressing will look a lot like pancake mix in color and consistency, if it doesn’t just add more water or tahini paste until it does.  Make sure you add salt to taste, it will cut the sourness of the lime and tahini. Once the dressing is just right, set it aside.

Next dice all your veggies and add them to the lentils. Add the remaining 1/2 tsp of cumin and salt and pepper to taste. Lastly, add the dressing. I didn’t use it all, maybe about half what the dressing recipe yielded. Stir everything together and taste for seasonings.


I will be completely honest and tell you that I have eaten about 2 out of the 4 portions it yielded. And you know what? I am not sorry! Lentils are rich in fiber, vitamin B and iron. Baby books tell newly pregnant women to load up on the stuff to help baby’s development.

Anyway, make this, you’ll love it!

One thought on “Tahini Lentil Salad

Leave a Reply

