Cold Day, Hot Lunch

Snow has landed! The weather is pretty grey and COLD in Michigan. Who knew?

After working a half day in a freezing cold office, I put off my to-do list (which is m-i-l-e-s long) yet again so I could go home and make a hot lunch. When we lived in Maryland, Pierre and I would go to an Asian market called Lotte. Not only did they have an awesome grocery selection but they also had a little cafeteria with different vendors serving Korean and Japanese food. I LOVED going to Lotte for lunch and to score cheap fruits and veggies. Once, I got blueberries there for $.89 per pint! I stocked up!

Anyway, one of my favorite dishes to get at Lotte was this beef stir-fry served in a hot stone bowl. It was so good and stayed hot during the entire meal because of the heated bowl. I also loved the little rice grains that would get crunchy around the edges of the bowl from the direct heat. YUM. That’s exactly what I was craving today.I improvised because I don’t have any stone bowl. I should go buy some!

Beef Stir-Fry
Serves 2

  • 1 cup cooked Jasmine rice
  • 3 medium garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion (or you can be lazy like me and use 1 tbsp onion flakes)
  • 1/2 lb cubed beef (any meat will do, just cut it in bite-sized pieces)
  • 1/4 cup sliced carrots (I didn’t have any other veggies on hand or I would have used more. Think outside the box for you veggies!)
  • Handful chopped cabbage
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • zest of 1 lime
  • Garlic powder, to taste
  • Ground ginger, to taste
  • Extra virgin olive oil

My first step was to put my rice in the rice cooker. This is also a great recipe of for left over rice. Heat a medium skillet with a little oil. Add the garlic and onion and saute for a few minutes. Next, add your meat of choice and saute for about 5 minutes, until the meat gets a little color on it.

ImageAdd your veggies of choice. While the veggies soften, mix together the soy sauce, lime zest, garlic powder and ground ginger in a small bowl. Pour the sauce over the stir-fry and allow to bubble for 2-3 minutes.

ImageTurn the heat off and add the chopped cabbage. Serve over rice and enjoy :).

ImageImageImagePerfect for a cold day!

Leave a Reply

