2012

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Christmas! I can’t believe it’s the last day in 2011. Part of me is happy it’s over but the other part is really anxious! I mean, my due date is right around the corner!

2012 marks a year of complete change in my life; I will forever be a mother. I know all I have to do it follow the footsteps of those mothers I love and admire so much and I’ll be OK. I so thankful I have such amazing moms in my life to turn to when I have questions – I can’t imagine doing this alone. Even though we are so far from each other I’ll never feel alone.

First, there’s my mom. I’ve never met someone so willing to please. She ALWAYS puts other peoples’ needs before her own and is probably one of the least selfish people I know. My mom will drop everything and come stay with me when I ask her to, she will give gentle advice and is never pushy (unless she’s trying to feed you, haha). She’s kind to everyone she meets and so fun to be around. She will definitely spoil our little one. This will be her second grandchild!

Mommy and Me

Then, there’s Pierre’s mom. I’ve loved her from the moment we met. I remember being so nervous but we hit it off from the very beginning. She is strong willed and determined when it comes to the serious stuff but she knows how to have fun, too. She will do anything for get grandkids – something I love to see because she brings them so much joy. This will be her third grandchild – second girl!

Pierre, Me, Melinda, Pierre ❤

My sister – the new mom in the group, well, kind of. Her daughter just turned two and in the last two years my sister has changed her whole world for the benefit of her daughter. Not only is she working nights but she is attending nursing school to provide only the best for my niece. She is completely selfless – something she probably got from my mom. She will never give up.

Me, my sister and my niece!

Last but certainly not least, my sister-in-law. She had two kids and while we were in Baltimore we watched them grow up. She loves so deeply. Her kids are kind, well-mannered, and thoughtful. They live an active and healthy lifestyle that I admire so much. She and her husband don’t just tell their kids what’s right, they lead them by example. It’s really beautiful to watch.

My sister-in-law and her family!

These aren’t the only mom’s I’ve known, of course, but the one I know will be there for me every step of the way. I love them and I will always cherish them. Forever.

Leave a Reply

