New Year’s Eve Breakfast

You know how some people say that the way they spend New Year’s Eve sets the tone for their new year all together? I’m not one of those people. I believe in food and how it can heal and set the tone for pretty much anything.

It’s true – I love food.

On New Year’s Eve Pierre and I had a million errands to run so we needed an amazing breakfast. It was simple and filling and did I mention amazing? After seeing this recipe I had to have potatoes immediately.

Potato Breakfast Hash
Serves 2

1 russet potato, washed and diced small
1 small onion, cut julienne
1 garlic clove, chopped
Handful chopped parsley, I like a lot of parsley so I may have used more then a handful
1 tbsp Herbs de Provence, similar to Italian seasoning but just a little different
2 strips of cooked bacon, crumbled
Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper

Heat olive oil in a medium skillet (with a tight-fitting lid) over medium heat. Toss in the onions and cook until the edges start to caramelize. Turn the heat down to medium low and add the garlic. Cook for about a minutes and then add the potatoes and cover. Let the potatoes steam in the pan for about 10 – 15 minutes, tossing the potatoes about 5 – 7 minutes in. The edges will be starting to brown. Yummmm.

In the meantime, I cooked the bacon. How pretty does my camera make bacon look?

Once the potatoes are tender, add the chopped parsley, spices and crumbled bacon.

I served this hash with eggs, over easy for him, whites for me! Oh, and we had chocolate chunk pancakes on the side. I told you this breakfast was filling! I just used a simple box (EEEKKKK! Don’t tell) pancake mix and added chocolate chunks.

Make this for someone you love.

One thought on “New Year’s Eve Breakfast

Leave a Reply

