Key Lime Pie… Sort Of..

It’s been a strange week. I’ve made recipes that have been totally out of my comfort/liking zone. Is liking zone even a thing? Well, it is now. We just got a membership to Sam’s Club and I could not be more excited. Food in bulk? Yes, please! One of the things I ended up leaving the super store with was a huge bag of limes.

Anyway, after being in sunny Florida for Christmas I must have been really missing it because I woke up on Thursday and I had to make Key Lime Pie. Except I didn’t have key limes so I used regular limes. Oh yeah, and I didn’t have butter or graham crackers for a delicious crust. Basically I improvised some but it turned out great!

(Key) Lime Pie
Adapted from Closet Cooking

1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
4 egg yolks
1/2 cup lime juice
2 teaspoons lime zest
1 frozen Pillsbury pie crust (prebaked)

Preheat the oven to 300F.  Whisk the sweetened condensed milk, egg yolks, key lime juice and lime zest in a large bowl until smooth. Pour the mixture into the cooled pie crust. Bake until set, about 20 minutes. Let cool to room temperature and then refrigerate for at least 3 hours. DONE!

Whipped Cream

1 cup whipping cream
1/2 cup sugar

Whip ingredients until it turns into whipped cream! OR you could just use store bought. But why would you? ;).

Slather the whipped cream on the cooled pie and serve.

Leave a Reply

