Beef & Broccoli Noodles

OK. This lunch ROCKS. And let me tell you first that this is not like the traditional brown sauce beef and broccoli you get from a Chinese restaurant. It’s way better and I’m sure way healthier. I’m a sucker for Asian flavors. They just make my mouth so happy!

I’ve been battling a cold for over a week now and cooking is actually making me feel better. Although my appetite was a little off in the beginning of the week, I’ve been finding my way back.

This lunch (or dinner) recipe is super comforting on a rainy day. Or a snowy day. Or a sunny day. You get my drift.

Beef & Broccoli Noodles
Serves 2

1/2 lb beef cut into bite-sized pieces (any tender cut will work – I used pre-cubed stew meat)
1/2 white onion, thinly sliced
1/2 cup broccoli, cut into bite-sized pieces
1/2 cup carrots, cut into thin strips (I used 4 baby carrots)
Handful chopped cabbage, about two leaves
1/4 lb A Taste of Thai rice noodles, cooked
2 tbsp Asian Seasoning Mix by Pampered Chef
2 tbsp garlic powder
2 tbsp toasted sesame oil
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp corn starch
Pepper, to taste
1 lime, zest & juice
Extra virgin olive oil

The first thing I did was soak the rice noodles in boiling hot water. According to the directions on the box, I let the noodles to soak for about 20 minutes. While they were soaking I prepared the marinade for the beef. Once the noodles are just tender, strain and set aside in a large serving bowl.

In a bowl mix the beef with half of all the seasonings: Asian seasoning mix, garlic powder, sesame oil, soy sauce, pepper and all of the corn starch. Set aside for 20 to 30 minutes.

Heat a medium skillet over medium-high heat and add the olive oil. Toss in the onions and meat. Normally, I like to cook the onions a little bit before I add anything to them but in this case I wanted to the onions and meat to caramelize at the same time. If I waited to add the meet then the onions would have burned and I would have had to start all over again!

Cook the meat for 3 – 4 minutes or until browned and then turn onto the other side and cook for another 2 minutes.

Add the veggies. Here’s where you can get crazy! Add any veggies you want, get creative (do I say that too much?). Think bell peppers, baby corn, eggplant, zucchini – GET CRAZY.

Add the remainder of the spices and the lime juice. Toss everything together and cook for about a minute before turning off the heat. Pour everything over the noodles and add the lime zest. Toss together and serve!

Leave a Reply

