My Favorite Cookie (it’s gluten-free!)

OK – I know what you’re thinking, gluten-free foods suck. I’m with you. For the most part, I’ve never come across a gluten-free item that I’ve enjoyed. I think that I just like straight up regular ol’ flour in my foods. Call me a fatty foodie, but I can taste the difference!

The great thing about these cookies is that there is NO FLOUR so you can’t go wrong! They are packed full of protein and deliciousness. AND you don’t have to get your mixer out for this recipe, either! Win Win!

I’ve done a version of this cookie on the blog before but I’m revisiting it because it’s THAT good. When you’re in the mood for something sweet without a ton of calories, this is the cookie for you. Also, you can add just about anything to these and they will taste good. Think baking chips, spices, dried fruit, shredded coconut, flavored extracts, lemon peel, crystallized ginger, Kisses. I mean, really! I could go on or you could just experiment yourself.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Yields: 16 cookies, approx.

1 cup peanut butter, I use Skippy Natural Creamy but your favorite will do
1 egg
1/2 cup of packed brown sugar, you can use white sugar if you want
1 cup of chocolate chips
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350F. I find that this mixes up best if I use a wooden spoon. In a bowl mix the egg and brown sugar to break up any clumps. Add the vanilla and peanut butter and stir until everything is incorporated and then add the chocolate chips. This dough is pretty thick but it will come together. Using a cookie scoop or a tablespoon dollop on a baking sheet and bake for 13 – 15 minutes or until they are brown on the edges and starting to crack on the top.

These are rich and sweet and crumble just right but totally melt in your mouth. UGH! SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

