Basil Lime Salmon

A few years ago I made salmon with just 3 ingredients. Butter, basil and salt. It was probably one of the most delicious pieces of salmon I’ve ever had. I wish I could remember where I found the recipe. You basically take softened butter, chopped basil and salt and mix it all together. Get ready for this – then you slather it all over the salmon and broil it! Oh my. The butter melts into the salmon leaving it juicy and tender and the basil gives it just enough or a  flavor boost.

Wanna know the sad part? I never made it again. I WISH I had the guts to make it again without the guilt of knowingly eating half a stick of butter. I just can’t do it. What’s wrong with me??

Anyway, this recipe is kind of a piggy back to that delicious salmon I had. But without all the guilt and cholesterol.

Basil Lime Salmon
Serves 2

2 salmon filets, about 2 inches thick
1 tbsp chopped basil
1 lime, zest & juice
1 large clove of garlic, grated
1 tbsp olive oil
Salt & pepper to taste

Preheat the broiler to low and make sure the oven rack is in the middle. If you don’t have a low setting on your broiler just move the rack to the lowest rung.

In a small bowl, or tiny Mason jar, add all the ingredients except the salmon. Whisk until everything is combined, or in my case, put a lid on the jar and shake shake shake!

the good stuff.

Lay your salmon on a foil-lined baking sheet. Spoon the basil dressing over the salmon and allow it to sit for a minimum of 10 minutes. I actually let it sit for an hour because I was trying to put Eva down for the night. You don’t want to let the marinade sit on the salmon longer then an hour or two because the citrus will actually end up cooking the salmon and you’ll end up with ceviche. Which, let’s face it, is delicious but not really what we’re going for.

When you’re ready, place the salmon under the broiler for 15 minutes. NO LONGER! The last thing you want is a dry, overcooked piece of salmon. Fish takes no time to cook so if your salmon filets are on the thin side don’t cook them that long and if they are thick then 20 minutes MAX!

This dinner was delicious! We paired the fish with a simple salad and baked yucca fries – DELICIOUS! Yucca is super popular in the Hispanic world either boiled or deep fried. I’ve been roasting them in a 400F degree oven for 20 minutes with just olive oil and salt. They are crunchy on the outside and smooth on the inside AND a fun substitute for potatoes in just about any dish. Some grocery stores that carry Goya products will have peeled yucca already in the frozen vegetable section of the grocery store. Unfortunately for me, I have to buy it raw and feel it myself – BUMMER! Promise me you will try these some time!

Stop being jealous of our blue plates..

Oh, and you will have some of the marinade left over which incidentally is perfect to dip your yucca fries into :).

Leave a Reply

