Breakfast Smoothies

Smoothies aren’t something I make a habit of drinking. Honestly, I much rather chew my calories then drink them. I will make Pierre and I a smoothie for breakfast every now and then if I don’t have time to make a REAL breakfast. OR if I’ve been feeling guilty about something I ate the day before. Usually the latter.

When I was pregnant I made a lot of smoothies because I laid in bed until the last possible moment before I HAD to start getting ready for work. This is my absolute FAVORITE smoothie.

Purple Breakfast Smoothie
Serves 1, about 16 OZ

1/4 cup frozen blueberries
1/4 cup frozen Strawberries
1 frozen banana
1/4 cup Bolthouse Green Goodness juice
1 tbsp Peanut butter
1 tsp ground flax seed
1/2 cup Soy milk
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (metabolism booster!)

OK, so these measurements are estimates. I hardly ever measure anything unless I’m baking. And even then its iffy. I mean, really, who measures chocolate chips? I just add as many as it takes to turn what I’m making into straight chocolate ;).

Anyway, what I’m trying to say is I usually add everything to the blender and then milk as I go to get perfect consistency for my taste. No matter your measurements, you will be left with a delicious smoothie. Promise. I think the best part about this smoothie is the frozen bits of peanut butter the blender forgot to break up. It reminds me of when my grandfather use to buy peanut butter ripple ice cream when I was a kid. Is there much better then peanut butter in this world??

Back to the smoothie. The color is beautiful, too! I’ve switched this recipe up a bit from time to time. I’ll add different milks or instead of the Green Goodness juice I’ll add pomegranate or acai berry juice. They all work well.

OR

Mango-berry Oat Smoothie
Serves 1, about 8 OZ

1 mango, skin discarded and cut into pieces (frozen mango would work well in this, too!)
8 – 10 strawberries, tops discarded (Same goes for the berries, frozen would be great!)
1/4 quick cooking oats
1/2 cup milk
1- 6 oz Chobani passion fruit yogurt (MY FAVORITE!!)
1/2 tsp of cinnamon (metabolism booster!)

Again, just toss everything in the blender and add milk as you go. The only downside to this smoothie, for me, was the fact that I didn’t have any frozen fruit and I didn’t want to dilute it with ice. It was room temperature and I didn’t have time to let it chill in the fridge before I had to head out the door. But it was delicious! The oats added a nice denseness that filled me up.

LOVE my Ninja blender!

If you do use frozen fruit be sure to have your milk on standby because that in combination with the oats will result in a thick mixture.

So if you must drink your breakfast these are for you!

Leave a Reply

