Shredded Beef

This is an easy one! Even through I am a stay at home mom now there are still days where I don’t feel like cooking. Let alone have time. Did you know that caring for a baby is time consuming? Well, it is. Before I know it, it’s 9pm and all I have to show for my day is a well-fed baby. Which, I have to say, is pretty wonderful.

I do feel bad for that husband of mine sometimes. He deserves to be well-fed, too. He hates the kitchen and I love the kitchen. What do you know? Perfect match!

One of the many reasons I love this recipe is because it takes almost no time to put together and it involves the slow cooker. Every busy person’s best friend. Plus your house will smell amazing.

Shredded Beef
Serves 4

1 3-4lb roast
-Smoked paprika
-Chili powder
-Cumin
-Salt
-Pepper
-Water

You’ll notice I did not put any measurements next to the spices. That’s because it really depends on the size of your roast. You just want to coat the roast in all the spices evenly. Put it in the slow cooker and add just enough water to cover the bottom inch or two of the roast. Cook on low for 6 – 8 hours. If you’re in a pinch you could cook it on high for 4 hours, but technically low and slow is best.

Some hours later you end up with a fork tender, beautifully caramelized piece of meat. Take it out of the slow cooker and let it rest on a cutting board for 5 – 10 minutes before shredding with two forks.

The possibilities are endless. You can make tacos, quesadillas, a salad, a burrito or burrito bowl, wrap, lettuce wrap, sandwich, even top a baked potato. I’ve done all of the above.

3 thoughts on “Shredded Beef

  1. YUM! Derek doesn’t eat very much red meat, so I’m always throwing chicken in the slow cooker for easy meals – best part is (like you said) the diversity! I’ll have to make some beef here soon and switch it up.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Arepa | foodtherapyfun

  3. Pingback: Photo Friday | foodtherapyfun

Leave a Reply

