Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes

Every month or so Pierre’s office has a potluck. They have somewhere around 20 employees so they round everyone up easily enough. Last week’s theme was Hawaiian food.

Well, if you’ve been a FTF reader for a little while, or you know us personally, you know that Pierre + kitchen= no-no. Not because he’s a bad cook but because he truly hates being in the kitchen with me. You might say, “Why don’t you just stay out of the kitchen when he’s in it?”. Uhm, I can’t. We’ve been married 5+ years and I’ve learned that as much as I WANT him to WANT to cook, I can’t just butt out. I see ingredients and I want to be a part of it!

“Why not me?” – any Dane Cook fans?

OH! OH! And he has to have exact measurement and directions. So not me. We are complete opposites and I love it! I’m actually learning a lot about this in the marriage audio CDs I’m listening to.

There are a few times that he has cooked dinner for me after I BEGGED him to and it’s been phenomenal. He usually makes our breakfast on Saturday mornings (pancakes!) which I love but that’s pretty much the extent of his time in the kitchen. When we first met he lived off of fast food and was not very adventurous when it came to trying new things. I’m proud to say that I turned that around after we started dating and, now, there isn’t much he won’t eat. He’s my favorite critic and he’s always super honest when I feed him something new, which I love. He’s a total foodie and it makes me happy!

What I’m trying to say is that I step in when he has a potluck. He actually suggested I make pineapple upside down cake into cupcakes! These cupcakes were inspired by this recipe by the Brown Eyed Baker. I followed the recipe exactly and even measured. WHAT? Who am I?

I doubled the recipe to yield 24 and only made a few modifications.

  1. I used 1 15oz can of pineapple tidbits in pineapple juice, rinsed & drained
  2. Uhm.. I forgot the cherries.
  3. I topped the cupcakes with coconut whipped cream frosting with toasted coconut on top.
  4. Baked them in a silicone muffin dish for 25 minutes.

*Coconut Whipped Cream Frosting
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp coconut extract

Whip the ingredients on medium speed until it’s a stiff frosting, about 5-10 minutes.

Toasted Coconut
1/2 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut

Place coconut on a baking sheet into a 350°F oven for 5 – 8 minutes or until evenly toasted.

*If the cupcakes are not completely cooled, the frosting will melt! I made the cupcakes the night before I frosted them so I would suggest that if you have the time.

One thought on “Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Dark Chocolate + Toasted Coconut Scones | foodtherapyfun

Leave a Reply

