Dark Chocolate + Toasted Coconut Scones

Sometimes I get bored after Eva goes to sleep. Like, 7:30 pm. It’s not like I have housework that needs to be done or sleep deprivation. I made these while ‘bored’ a few nights ago and uh, they are amazing.

I thought I could just make them and have them ready for breakfast the next morning. I’m so smart thinking ahead! Let’s be honest. I may have eaten one of these hot from the oven at 10:15pm because I didn’t actually get up to make them until 9:30pm. You know, for the sake of the blog. I had to be able to give a proper review.

Dark Chocolate + Toasted Coconut Scones
makes 6 – 8, adapted from How Sweet Eats

1 3/4 cups flour
3 tbsp brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1/3 cups cold butter
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup toasted unsweetened coconut
4 oz shaved dark chocolate
course sugar for sprinkling

Preheat oven to 425ºF. In large bowl combine dry ingredients. Cut in butter until it forms coarse crumbs, I just use my hands. Stir in buttermilk and vanilla. Fold in the coconut and dark chocolate. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently. Pat into 7 inch round circle and cut into 6 or 8 circles or wedges. Brush with buttermilk and sprinkle with coarse sugar.

Bake at 425º F for 12-14 minutes.

Remember that coconut whipped cream frosting I made last week? I topped my scone with it. OHMYGOSH.

Leave a Reply

