Sardine + Bacon Spaghetti

Before you close this page, listen. I know canned fish isn’t everyone’s favorite thing to eat, it’s not mine either. But this is SO GOOD. I pretty much inhaled this meal in one commercial break. I wish I was kidding.

When I was younger my mom would crack open a few cans of sardines and mix them with garlic, lemon juice and salt. She would serve it in a pita wrap and call it lunch. I remember loving it but it was always one of those meals that’s only good when your mom makes it.

One of the many things my mom did for me while she was here waiting for Eva’s arrival was grocery shop. I totally forgot that she bought a few cans of sardines until I was cleaning out my pantry a few weeks ago.

Just trust me on this – you will love this dish!

Sardine + Bacon Spaghetti
Serves 2

1/2 lb thin spaghetti
2 strips of bacon, chopped
1 small onion, chopped – about 1/2 cup
2 garlic cloves, grated
1 Roma tomato, chopped
1 can of sardines in oil, bones removed and chopped
1 lime, zested and juiced
1/2 cup white wine
salt & pepper to taste
Olive oil

Cook spaghetti until al dente. Drain, toss in olive oil and set aside.

Cook bacon until crisp and the fat is rendered. Scoop onto a paper towel with a slotted spoon to drain any fat and clean out the pan.

Place the pan back on the heat with a drizzle of olive oil and add the onion. Cook the onion until it starts to caramelize. Then, add the garlic and tomatoes.

Add the sardines, wine and lemon juice. Adjust the heat to low and simmer until the wine is slightly reduced and the sauce is thick. This is where you want to taste the sauce to see if it needs any salt or pepper. Add the spaghetti and lime zest, toss everything together, and turn off the heat.

Serve up with crumbled bacon!

This meal was so satisfying and really works if you are on a budget! I want more.

Leave a Reply

