Spiced Carrots with Goat Cheese

I don’t like cooked carrots. I never have. Orange, bland mush comes to mind when I think cooked carrots. Kind of like the stuff I make Eva. Don’t tell her my “MMM” noises are fake when I feed her.

I have some carrots in the fridge that I wanted to use up so I turned to one of my best friends – Foodgawker, of course. I found this recipe and decided to play with it a little bit. UHM, wow. I’m a convert.

After making these carrots I MAY be changing my mind. I’m hoping that these come to mind when I hear ‘cooked carrots’. They were amazing! You don’t have to use baby carrots, any shape or size will do.

Spiced Carrots with Goat Cheese
Serves 2, adapted from Crumb

28 baby carrots, ends trimmed and cut lengthwise, about 2 cups
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground smoked paprika
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 small garlic clove, grated
1 small lime, juiced, about 1 tbs
1 tsp honey
2 tbsp evoo,
2 tbsp parsley, chopped
1 tbsp crumbled goat cheese
Salt & pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 400ºF. Place the carrots on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with a little bit of salt. Bake for about 10 –  15 minutes, turning halfway through, or until they start to caramelize.

While the carrots are cooking, add the cumin and paprika to a small pan and toast over medium-high heat for 5 minutes, stiring constantly. As soon as you can smell the spices, turn the heat off.

Add the spices to a small bowl and add the cinnamon, garlic, lime juice and honey. Whisk in the olive oil until the mixture emulsifies. Taste for seasoning and adjust to your liking with salt & pepper.

Mix in the parsley and toss the carrots in the dressing. Plate and top with crumbled goat cheese.

This was so delicious! It was tangy and sweet, crunchy and smooth. I don’t make sense because this recipe makes me crazy.

One thought on “Spiced Carrots with Goat Cheese

  1. Pingback: Smokey Curry Chicken | foodtherapyfun

Leave a Reply

