Raspberry & Chocolate Drop Scones

It’s no secret that I love scones. I could eat one every single day. My waist does not love them.

I decided to make a healthy scone. What? It has raspberries in it and fruit is healthy! The raspberries totally negate the flour and sugar and chocolate chips… and sugar. I was so excited to see raspberries on sale at the store this week!

I didn’t need any kind of frosting or whipped cream (see? healthy!) because the berries were perfectly sweet and smooth. This made a really sticky dough, almost too sticky, that’s why I ‘dropped’ them – there was no way I could have rolled this dough out on a floured surface. The juices from the berries just explode in your mouth.

These scones are the closest I’ve ever gotten to the BEST scones I’ve ever had from Starbucks. Their blueberry scone recipe from a few years ago was my addiction. Then they changed their recipe and broke my heart. No worries, though, I pulled through.

Raspberry & Chocolate Drop Scones
Makes 6, Adapted from How Sweet It Is

1 1/2 cups flour, plus 1/4 cup for dusting
1 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 stick cold butter, cut into pieces
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cups fresh raspberries, cut in half lengthwise
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
Coarse sugar for tops

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In large bowl, combine flour, sugar, salt, baking soda and powder. Using your fingers, a fork or a pastry blender, cut in butter until it forms coarse crumbs. Stir in buttermilk and vanilla, just somewhat combining, then fold in chocolate and cherries. Stir with a rubber spatula until a dough forms, using your hands to bring it together. This is where it gets tricky. The dough will be really wet and sticky. You can sprinkle the extra flour to help you turn the dough into a somewhat formed ball. Drop the dough onto a silpat, really in any shape you like. Sprinkle coarse sugar on top.

Bake for 15 – 20 minutes, or until the tops start to brown.

These smell amazing and go perfectly with coffee. They aren’t dry or crumbly like your average scone, that’s the best part! Notice there are only five scones up there. I ate one right when it came out of the oven. Obviously I have no self control when it comes to food. What else is new? I could live off of these for days so after I made these I went to meet a friend and forced her to take them home with her. I’m a great friend if you like to get fat treats.

3 thoughts on “Raspberry & Chocolate Drop Scones

  1. Pingback: Photo Friday | foodtherapyfun

Leave a Reply

