Chocolate Pumpkin Pudding Cupcakes with Chocolate Whipped Cream

Say that 5 times fast. Sheesh. Could I PICK longer titles? Please tell me there are some FRIENDS fans out there. I basically talk in FRIENDS quotes all day long. And don’t look at me like that. I see it in your eyes, you’ve got that oh no, she’s busting out the pumpkin already look. Starbucks has pumpkin spice now so I can do it, too.

So, I made cupcakes. But not just any cupcakes. These are soft and smooth and pillowy. And don’t forget the whipped cream all over the top. My mother-in-law shared a big secret with me a few years back. Sometimes, when she bakes a cake, she will add a packet of instant pudding to make sure it’s moist. Yes, I hate that word, too, but there’s no other way to describe it. Sorry. There is seriously, like, pudding swirling in your cake.

Anyway, I decided to make these into cupcakes so that I wouldn’t feel so guilty cutting into a large cake over and over again leaving evidence that I had been around. Instead, the cupcakes just start disappearing without a trace. Who knows, maybe I did only make 11, or 10… or 9. You get the idea.

Chocolate Pumpkin Pudding Cupcakes*
Makes 12

1 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 package of instant pumpkin spice pudding
1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup white sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 cup almond milk
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup butter, melted at room temp

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl mix all the dry ingredients together and set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk egg and sugar until smooth and no lumps remain. Add milk, whipping cream, butter and vanilla, and mix until combined. Slowly, add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture. Mix until batter is smooth, if the batter is too stiff, slowly add the water to thin it out, you may use less than the 1/4 cup. Line a muffin tin with liners and add batter to each cup. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool completely before frosting.

Chocolate Whipped Cream

1 cup heavy whipping cream
2 tbsp white sugar
1 tbsp cocoa powder

Add all the ingredients to a stand mixer and whip until soft peeks form. This frosting keeps well in the fridge and I wouldn’t recommend frosting the cupcakes until their are ready to be eaten.

OR you can do it the hard way like me. I didn’t want to use my mixer and so I just made it with a whisk. My arm is about to fall off. This is why electric mixers exist – duh! Well, tell that to my earlier stubborn self.

Funny story, I had to make mayonnaise from scratch as one of my finals while I was in school and my arm was in so much pain from all the whisking that I almost cried. Yep, I’m a big baby. I vowed to never do that again unless my grade depended on it. Well, well, well, what have we here? A crazy person. Please use your mixer. And no, I’m not missing part of my thumb, I just don’t want you to see all my peeling nail polish.

Please notice the two sneaks in the back scheming how to steal the cupcakes. These are so good I’m trying to forget that they are just sitting on my counter waiting to be eaten. Oy.

*You can skip this and use a boxed chocolate cake mix and add the instant pudding. You will have to add some water to thin it out. Also, this option will make more than 12. You don’t have to use pumpkin pudding. Try any flavor combination you like!

One thought on “Chocolate Pumpkin Pudding Cupcakes with Chocolate Whipped Cream

  1. Pingback: Photo Friday | foodtherapyfun

Leave a Reply

