Smoked Paprika Quinoa

Oh, how I love quinoa. This recipe doesn’t have much of an introduction, it’s just amazing. But I will say that looking back at the recipe I should have called it the Quarter Quinoa recipe.

Smoked Paprika Quinoa
Serves 2

1/4 cup dry quinoa
1/4 cup white onion, diced small
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
1/4 cup corn (I used frozen corn)
1/4 cup cauliflower, cut into florets
1 lime, juiced
1 small garlic cloves, grated
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp olive oil
salt & pepper to taste
Preheat the oven to 400ºF. Toss the cauliflower and corn with a little bit of olive oil, salt & pepper and roast for 15 – 20 minutes, or until they start to caramelize.

Cooking quinoa is really easy, it’s a lot like cooking rice. The ratio is two parts liquid to one part grain (or seed, actually). I say liquid because you can cook the quinoa in any liquid you want – it’s pretty much going to absorb that flavor. If my teachers from school knew that I was using water to cook my quinoa, they would fail me. Good thing I graduated long ago.. ANYWAY. Tangent over. Simmer the quinoa and your liquid of choice for 15 minutes and turn the heat off.

While the veggies are roasting and the quinoa is cooking, add the onion and parsley to a medium bowl. To make the dressing add the lime juice, garlic, smoked paprika, olive oil and salt to a small mason jar. Shake until it’s emulsified and a beautiful vibrant shade of orange.

Add everything to the bowl and eat up! I served this on the side of some simple roasted salmon. It was light and refreshing.

Leave a Reply

