Chili & Citrus Pork Chops

It’s October. OCTOBER. How is this happening? My baby was just born, wasn’t she? I’m in denial.

I never buy pork. EVER. Unless it’s in the form of bacon. But in that case I never think of it as pork because bacon should be in it’s own delicious food category. Anyway, I never buy pork. Every time I’ve had pork I’ve been disappointed. EVERY TIME. It’s dry, flavorless and this weird white color (uhm, hello, chicken?).

I decided to give it a try when it was on sale at my grocery store last week. I’m glad because it was awesome. I paired it with lemon, garlic and chili powder because, let’s face it, what don’t I douse in those three ingredients? I need a little variety in my life.

Chili & Citrus Pork Chops
Serves 4

4 boneless pork chops
1 large garlic clove, grated.
1 lemon, juice & zest
1/2 tsp chili powder
Salt & pepper to taste
1 tsp olive oil

Add all the ingredients to a zip top bag and marinate the chops for 20 minutes – 4 hours in the refrigerator, whatever works for your schedule. When you are ready to cook them, take them out of the refrigerator and allow them to come to room temperature. Place on a baking sheet and roast in a 400º F oven for 12 – 15 minutes.

These were amazing and would go wonderfully with the salad I posted last week but I made some veggies on the side. I cheated and used frozen veggies but it tasted just as if they were fresh.

Sauteed Asparagus & Green Beans
Serves 4

1/2  bag of frozen asparagus
1/2 bad frozen whole green beans
1 large garlic clove, thinly sliced
1/2 lemon, juiced
salt & pepper to taste
1 tsp olive oil

Heat a medium skillet to medium high heat and add the olive oil. When the oil is hot, add the garlic and veggies. Toss for a few minutes until they start to caramelize. Add salt & pepper to taste and turn the heat off. Toss in the lemon juice just before serving.

I’ve totally changed my views on pork. Enter variety.

Leave a Reply

