Butternut Squash, Kale & Tomato Penne

This recipe really turned out well.

I went to the farmer’s market last weekend and I bought a butternut squash. Why? Because it was cheap. I had absolutely no clue what to make with it but I knew I wanted to give it a try. The most popular way I’ve seen squash prepared is in soup. That’s great and all, but I’m only in the mood for soup every 2 months or so. But I took a leap of faith and I’m so happy with the result. Turns out that butternut squash is kind of sweet and I kind of love it.

Butternut Squash, Kale & Tomato Penne
Serves 4

1/2 lb Penne pasta or small shaped pasta
1 small onion, chopped
2 large garlic cloves, chopped
2 cups  butternut squash, peeled, seeds removed and cubed (about 1/2 a small squash)
2 small Roma tomatoes, chopped
4 cups kale, washed, stems removed and torn into pieces
3 -4 slices of Provolone cheese
1 lime, juiced
1 tbsp herbs de Provence, or Italian seasoning
Salt & pepper to taste
Olive oil or cooking spray

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and cook the pasta according to the package. Drain the pasta and return it to the pot, drizzle with olive oil so it does not stick and set aside.

Place a large skillet over medium heat and add about a teaspoon of olive oil or cooking spray. Add the onion and garlic and saute for a few minutes until it’s fragrant. Add the butternut squash and put a lid over it to steam for 5 – 7 minutes.

Turn the heat to medium-high and add the tomato. Allow the veggies to char slightly and add the lime juice.

Add the kale and seasonings. Add the pasta and turn the heat off.

Spray a baking dish with cooking spray or coat with a little olive oil. Add the pasta and top with the cheese. Broil for 3 – 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted and starts to bubble.

I loved this dish because even though pasta tends to be heavy, the fact that I didn’t use a dense sauce made it super light and refreshing. I know you are probably sick of me using limes and garlic in everything but I firmly believe that they make life better. If Eva loved this, so will you.

Leave a Reply

