Roasted Beet & Squash Quinoa Lettuce Wraps

I want to eat this every day. Every single day. Forever. The photos are terrible and I’m sorry but I honestly didn’t expect this to turn out as amazing as it did. The days I work I don’t get home until 1:30 and I’m starving. I fight the urge to get Chipotle for lunch every time because I can pretty much see and smell it from my work parking lot. If you know me at all you know that resiting Chipotle is like the hardest thing I do on most days.

By the time I get home I just want to shovel anything I can find in my fridge directly into my mouth. But this time I went with my instinct to roast some butternut squash and beets. Hear me people, always go with your instincts, OK? Oh, and if you are sick of lime, garlic and awesome spices then this is not the recipe for you.

Roasted Beet & Squash Quinoa
Serves 2

1/2 cup quinoa
1 cup butternut squash, peeled, seeds removed and cubed
2 medium sized beets, peeled and cubed
1 scallion, chopped
1 lime, juiced
1 garlic clove, grated
1/8 tsp smoked paprika
1/8 tsp cumin
2 tsp olive oil, plus some to coat the veggies before roasting
Salt & pepper to taste
Lettuce, to serve

Preheat the oven to 400º F. Add the beets and squash to a baking sheet and coat with olive oil, salt & pepper. Roast until caramelized, about 15 – 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, cook the quinoa according to the package directions. You can use stock as your liquid but I used water.

Add the lime juice, garlic, olive oil, salt and spices to a small mason jar. Tightly fit the lid and shake to emulsify the dressing. You can also build this in a bowl and whisk in the oil to emulsify.

When the veggies are ready, add them to a bowl with the quinoa, scallion and dressing. Load into lettuce boats and go nuts.

Leave a Reply

