Spicy Vegan Mac & Cheese

I did a something a little crazy. Well, a lot crazy. I made cheese sauce without cheese. Is it ‘cheeze’ or ‘cheese’?

I don’t know, but I do know that it was delicious and we loved it! I know what you’re thinking, it’s not the same. You’re right, it’s not, but this is a great dairy-free alternative and super guilt-free, too. I have seen nutritional yeast pop up on vegan and vegetarian blogs and I was definitely skeptical. But I took a leap of faith and bought it. Guess what? It tastes just like cheese! So crazy.

Spicy Vegan Mac & Cheese
Serves 2

8 oz pasta
1 tbsp Earth Balance butter
1 tbsp flour
1 cup almond milk
1 1/2 tbsp nutritional yeast
1 tsp garlic powder
2 tbsp hot sauce, I used Texas Pete
1 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped
Salt & pepper to taste

Cook the pasta in a large pot of salted boiling water. Drain when it’s al dente and set aside with a light drizzle of olive oil. While the pasta cooks, melt the butter in a small saucepan and add the flour to make a roux. Cook the roux for a minute or two and add the milk. Whisk the milk over medium heat until it starts to thicken, this will take about 5 – 7 minutes. When the milk had thickened, add the yeast, garlic powder, salt, pepper and oregano.

Turn the heat off and toss the sauce with the pasta.

Pierre loved this, he said, “if only had vegetarian hot dogs to cut up and add to this”. Where did my foodie go? Oy.

Leave a Reply

