Butternut Squash Mac N’ Cheese Gnocchi

This is it. Your dinner. You can make this with any short pasta you want if that’s all you have on hand. It’s easy, delicious and pretty healthy, if I do say so myself. Eva LOVED it but she pretty much devours everything I feed her. I love that about her :).

She get it from her mamma.

I only have one photo of this meal because I attacked my plate after I took it.

IMG_1629

 

P.S. aren’t my new plates amazing? I’m totally in love with them! That link does them no justice. They look so plain, but in person they are almost gold. Just awesome.

Butternut Squash Mac N’ Cheese Gnocchi
Serves 4

1 lb gnocchi
2 cups butternut squash, cubed
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
2 cups vegetable stock
1 cup almond milk (cows milk or plain soy milk is fine)
1 – 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 cup Italian blend cheese, or mozzarella cheese
1 – 2 tbsp goat cheese, crumbled
1 tbsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground sage (or 1 tbsp chopped fresh sage)
1 tsp chopped fresh thyme
Salt & pepper  to taste
Olive oil

Preheat the oven to 425ºF. Roast the butternut squash with a little salt, pepper & olive oil until they are browned, about 15 minutes. Remove from the oven and mash (on the baking sheet) with a potato masher or fork. I left it a little chunky but you can make it as chunky or smooth as you like. Set aside.

To cook the gnocchi you have a few different options. You could boil it according to the package directions or you could toast it as I did. Just add a little cooking spray or olive oil in a pan a cook on medium heat until they begin to take on a little color.

Melt the butter in a sauce pot and allow it to brown slightly. Add the flour and stir with a whisk for about a minute over medium heat. Add the stock and milk while stirring and whisking out any lumps. Bring to a simmer and stir in 1 cup of cheddar cheese. You might need the additional 1/2 cup but you may not, it depends on how think you’d like the cheese sauce. Add the garlic powder, sage, salt & pepper.

Add the gnocchi into the cheese sauce, toss together and place in a greased baking dish. Top with the Italian blend cheese or mozzarella, dot with goat cheese and broil until the top is bubbly and slightly browned.

I am quite proud of this recipe! Pierre usually has some sort of comment when it comes to my recipes, which I welcome. So after dinner tonight I asked him if he would change anything. His response? “Nothing, it was perfect!” I almost fell off the couch.

Leave a Reply

