Onion Pear + Blue Cheese Puff Pastry

I ate this for dinner last night. I tried to incorporate some kind of healthy protein but I was glued to my seat until I eat half the thing. And I was too full in the end to eat anything else.

D7K_3470

A few months ago I went out to dinner and had a pear and gorgonzola pizza that I still dream of from time to time. So I wanted to make something similar and came up with this.

D7K_3474

The sweet and savory combination of the pear and cheese is intoxicating. Paired with a light and buttery (oxymoron?) puff pastry and a light drizzle of honey could send you over the edge into food heaven. Something this good with only 4 ingredients is one of the reasons food makes me exceedingly happy.

Onion Pear + Blue Cheese Puff Pastry
Serves 2 – 4

1 sheet puff pastry, left out to thaw
1 small yellow onion, thinly sliced
1 Bosc pear, core removed and thinly sliced (the pear I bought had rough looking skin so I peeled it but you don’t have to)
1/4 cup grumbled blue cheese
Honey, optional

Preheat the oven to 400ºF. Add the sliced onions to a nonstick skillet over medium heat. Allow to cook down without getting much color. If they start to brown too quickly, lower the heat. The goal is to cook down the onions until they are translucent and soft, about 20 minutes. Lay the puff pastry out on a lightly greased baking sheet (or foil because I hate doing dishes) and top with the onions, leaving a 1/2 in border. Layer the sliced pear and sprinkle with blue cheese. Bake the pastry until the edges are brown and the cheese is soft, about 18 minutes. Sliced and drizzle with honey.

D7K_3483

 

Leave a Reply

