Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps

D7K_3458

This recipe requires a little TLC but it’s well worth it. I don’t know what possessed me to try the vegetarian lettuce wraps at P.F. Chang’s a few years ago but ever since then I always get them when we go. I love that the tofu is firm and has texture. I love that it’s refreshing and filling at the same time. I love that I feel good about what I ate when I’m done. This recipe was pretty close to their version. I think you’ll really like it!

Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps
serves 2

4 scallions, ends removed & thinly sliced
1 cup button mushrooms, cleaned & chopped
1 block marinated tofu, recipe follows
1 can water chestnuts, drained and chopped
1 lime, juiced
1 lime, cut in wedges
1 tsp olive oil
10 – 20 lettuce cups, washed and dried (I used green leaf lettuce but any lettuce will do)
Crispy chow mein noodles or crushed uncooked Ramen noodles for crunchy topping

Marinade
1 cup soy sauce
2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tbsp toasted sesame oil
1 lime, zest only
2 large garlic cloves, grated
1 tsp fresh ginger, grated

For the tofu:
Wrap the tofu in paper towel or a clean kitchen towel, lay on a plate and top with something heavy to press out all the excess liquid. I used a heavy saucepan with a large butternut squash on top. Ghetto? Yes. Effective? Yes. I don’t eat tofu that much to justify a tofu press but it might be something you should invest in if you are going to make it often. Anyway, let the tofu press for a hour or so. I actually pressed my tofu overnight once and it was great. It really depends on how much time you have. Once the tofu has been pressed, slice in 1/4 in slices and lay on a greased baking sheet. Brush with the marinade and bake for 20 minutes or until they are staring to crisp on the edges. Remove from the oven and chop.

D7K_3462

For the filling:
Heat a large skillet with medium high heat and add olive oil. Add all the ingredients except the crunchy noodles and lettuce leaves. Toss everything together until it all starts to caramelize. Add the remaining marinade and continue to cook everything until the sauce has cooked down. Serve with crispy noodles, lime wedges and lettuce cups on the side.

D7K_3468

IMG_2176

Leave a Reply

