Mozzarella Sticks

I have never ordered Mozzarella sticks. Ever. I did something a little silly. For the most part, I try to be healthy, BUT I do love to indulge from time to time. So I had this brilliant idea to make Mozzarella sticks to watch the football game on Saturday. Let me start by telling you that I in absolutely no way I regret making them. They were so good and I was totally satisfied. I had no clue they were so easy to make.

D7K_3527

Mozzarella Sticks
12 mini sticks

4 Mozzarella string cheese, cut into thirds & at room temperature
1/2 c milk
1/2 c flour
1/2 panko bread crumbs
1 tbsp Herbs de Provence
1 tsp garlic powder
salt & pepper to taste
Vegetable oil for frying*
Marinara sauce for dipping

Pour the milk into a bowl and set aside, pour the flour into a plate and set aside. On a separate plate, mix the breadcrumbs with the herbs, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Coat the cheese in the milk, then the flour, back into the milk and then the breadcrumbs. Shake off any excess and fry 4 at a time for about 5 minutes or until the cheese is soft and the breadcrumbs have browned. Drain on a paper towel. Serve hot with marinara sauce.


D7K_3531

*The silly part is that I could have totally made this in the oven. I could have tricked myself into thinking I was being bad but really eating a healthier version. I could have just set the breaded sticks on a baking rack and into a 400ºF oven for 15 – 20 minutes. Next time, I guess.

 

Leave a Reply

